Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask a Librarian
Click here to submit a question to a Manchester University Librarian.
Spartan Search: Books & More
Browse Call Numbers
Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.
Common Call Numbers
- Human Physiology 612
- Personal Health and Exercise 613
- Diseases 616
- Miscellaneous Medical 617
- Athletic Training 617.1
- Coaching, Sports 796
Searching EBSCO Databases:
After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.
Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
CINAHL Complete* This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Also includes a growing collection of global open access journals, all validated and certified for inclusion.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Health Source - Consumer Edition* This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health from consumer health magazines
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
The National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
MEDLINE with Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE.
ProQuest Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
A core collection of over 1500 health care and medical journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948. It includes links to full-text articles which may be found in other databases such as PubMed Central or at publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 880 peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences.
Not finding what you need? Use the contact information below!