LibGuides: Sociology and Social Work Resource Guide: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Recommended Reference

Key Concepts in Anti-Discriminatory Social Work by Cathy Aymer and Toyin Okitikpi
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781446204542
Publication Date: 2011
Basic ideas and concepts, including the nature of discrimination, theories that inform anti-discriminatory practice, and the legal frameworks within which anti-discriminatory practice operates, followed by analysis of the skills and knowledge required to practice effectively.
Key Concepts in Crime and Society by Ross Coomber, Joseph Donnermeyer, Karen McElrath and John Scott
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1473925150
Publication Date: 2014
An introduction to key issues in the area of crime as it connects to society. Sections include Understanding Crime and Criminality, Types of Crime and Criminality, and Responses to Crime.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Alan Barnard and Jonathan Spencer, eds.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780203866474
Publication Date: 2009
A guide to the ideas, arguments and history of social and cultural anthropology.
The Social History of the American Family by Marilyn Coleman and Lawrence H. Ganong, eds.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781452286150
Publication Date: 2014
Chronicles the social, cultural, economic, and political aspects of American families from the colonial period to the present. Key themes include culture, religion, the economy, social issues, family structures, gender roles, parenting and children, and family law and policy.

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

302 Social psychology
303.484 Social movements
305.31 Men
305.4 Women
305.5 People by social and economic levels
305.8 Ethnic and national groups
306.8 Marriage and family
361.1 Social problems
361.2 Social action
361.3 Social work
362 Social problems of and services for
groups of people
363 Other social problems and services
(public safety, housing, environment)
364 Criminology

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Films on Demand - Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
In-depth documentaries and curriculum-focused instructional videos cover a variety of topics such as poverty, gender inequality, social justice, crime, prejudice, and globalization.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Opposing viewpoints on controversial social issues. Includes newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles, as well as audio and video.
Points of View Reference Source* This link opens in a new window
Articles presenting multiple sides of controversial issues.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.
WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Note: Off-campus, you may have to close the browser tab and re-open it if an access error message appears.
Primary and secondary legal sources, including both federal and state cases, legal documents, statutes, and regulations, as well as law review articles and the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia.

Recommended Websites

Census.gov This link opens in a new window
A leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Child Welfare Information Gateway
Free information, resources, and tools covering topics on child welfare, child abuse and neglect, out-of-home care, adoption, and more.
Data.gov
Find U.S. government data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more. Topics include agriculture, climate, ecosystems, energy, local government, maritime, and ocean.
Green Book
History, description, and data on the social and economic programs, including Social Security, unemployment, assistance for needy families, child support, social services, and pension benefits, under the jurisdiction of the House Committee on Ways and Means.
Institute for Research on Poverty - Resources
Reports, discussion papers, policy briefs, fact sheets, and podcasts on the Institute's poverty and policy research.
International Sociology Association Digital Portal
Online publications from the ISA include Sociopedia.isa, e-Symposium, Social Justice, and Global Dialogue.
National Institute on Aging
Provides health information for seniors and caregivers, clinical trial information, and a searchable database of NIA-supported research.
ProCon.org
Presents the pro and con arguments to controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, freely accessible way.
Public Agenda - Reports & Resources
Research and analysis aimed at bridging the gap between governing elites and the general public. Topics include K-12 education, economic opportunity, health care, higher education, and public engagement/democracy reform.
Urban Institute
Data, research, and analysis on social and economic issues. Research areas include crime and justice, families, health, housing, poverty, and race and ethnicity.

Your Librarian

Darla Haines

Contact:

Library Director / Technical Services Librarian
MU Funderburg Library: Office #109
Phone: 260.982.5949
Email: dvhaines@manchester.edu

Subjects: Art, Education, English, Gender Studies, History, Music, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Theater

Recommended Journals

American Journal of Sociology
Articles cover all areas of sociology, with an emphasis on theory building and innovative methods.
**Peer Reviewed
American Sociological Review
Articles in all areas of sociology, including new theoretical developments, results of research that advance our understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations. Tables of contents for the last 3 years can be viewed on the publisher site; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Journal of Marriage and Family
Original theory, research interpretation, and critical discussion of materials related to marriage and the family. Last 12 months have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan. (Note: 1964-1981 available in JSTOR.)
**Peer Reviewed
Rural Sociology
Articles on extractive industries, agriculture and environmental concerns, attitudes and behaviors of rural residents.
**Peer Reviewed
Social Work
Articles on all aspects of social work and social welfare that yield new insights into established practices, evaluate new techniques and research, examine current social problems, or provide critical analysis on problems in the profession. Last 12 months have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed

Sociology and Social Work Resource Guide: Home

Featured Resource