Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using This Guide
Welcome to the FYS Here We Are Now, Entertain Us research guide. Use the tabs at the top of the page to access a variety of resources relevant to the course.
Select one prominent “artifact” from 1991: an artist, a songwriter, an album, a genre, a month, a movement or a scene in a specific city, etc. and conduct research and collect authentic sources on that artifact. Citing no less than five sources, present an overview of the artifact’s contributions to the musical landscape of 1991 and explore the impact the artifact had on popular culture (music, movies, fashion, etc.) in the years that followed.
Spartan Search: Books & More
Browse Call Numbers
Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.
- 900s Geography / Travel / Biography / History
- Peace Studies Collection
- Brethren Collection
- MC/MU Collection
- Access Services
- Reference Collection
- New Books
- Best Sellers
- 100s Philosophy / Psychology
- 200s Religion
- 300s Sociology / Political Science / Education
- 400s Languages / Linguistics
- 500s Science / Math
- 600s Technology / Medicine / Business
- 700s Art / Music / Theatre / Sports
- 800s Literature
- Teaching Resources
- Juvenile Collection
Searching EBSCO Databases:
After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.
Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Biography Reference Center* This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies, including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Includes original, comprehensive, and unbiased reporting and analysis on issues in the news from 1991-present.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 specialized reference works covering every major subject.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to classical music, jazz, world and folk music via streaming audio.
Not finding what you need? Use the contact information below!