LibGuides: FYWS LGBTQ+ Identities & Inclusion: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Recommended Books

The LGBTQ+ Comics Studies Reader by Alison Halsall (Editor); Jonathan Warren (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781496841391
Publication Date: 2022
Explores the exemplary trove of LGBTQ+ comics that coalesced in the underground and alternative comix scenes of the mid-1960s and in the decades after.
LGBTQ Life in America by Melissa R. Michelson; Brian F. Harrison
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781440875069
Publication Date: 2021
Provides facts and context for the most important questions facing LGBTQ Americans, past, present, and future.
The Queer Games Avant-Garde by Bo Ruberg
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781478007302
Publication Date: 2020
Twenty interviews with twenty-two queer video developers whose radical, experimental, vibrant, and deeply queer work is driving a momentous shift in the medium of video games.
Representing the Rainbow in Young Adult Literature : LGBTQ+ Content Since 1969 by Christine A. Jenkins and Michael Cart
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781442278073
Publication Date: 2018
Charts the evolution of YA literature that features characters and themes which resonate not only with LGBTQ+ readers but with their allies as well.

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking the "Academic Search Complete" link above the search box, checking boxes next to the database names and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Business Source Complete - Article Searching* This link opens in a new window
Full-text from scholarly journals and trade publications covering all areas of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete* This link opens in a new window
Full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
ERIC* This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Now includes former Artstor cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.