Home - FYWS - Human Rights - LibGuides at Manchester University

Your Assignment

Assignment Summary:

Choose an issue that violates human rights as articulated in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights
Describe how your issue manifests in your community, state, nation, or the world
Develop an argument for why your issue should be recognized as a human right
Discuss the impediments/obstacles (structural, political, legal, socio-cultural,
economic, etc.) in the way of recognizing your issue as a human right
Propose solutions to overcome/remove the impediments/obstacles
Locate at least three outside sources to support your argument

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Your Library Account

Recommended Book

Encyclopaedia of Human Rights in the United States, 2 Volume Set by Grey House Publishing
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781682173466
Publication Date: 2017
Surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, and more. Specific areas covered include the rights of the child, women's and girls' rights, freedom of thought and expression, and the right to health care and education.

Recommended Websites

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking the "Academic Search Complete" link above the search box, checking boxes next to the database names and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Now includes former Artstor cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images.
Points of View Reference Source* This link opens in a new window
Articles presenting multiple sides of controversial issues.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.