LibGuides: SOSC 110 Civic Engagement: Resources

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Your Library Account

Google Scholar

Advanced Search Tips
for Google Scholar

Research Summary Worksheet

Research Summary
Use this worksheet to keep track of your sources, annotations, and how each source supports your argument

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
APA PsycArticles* This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Now includes former Artstor cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.

Recommended Books

Poverty in America by John Iceland
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780520956797
Publication Date: 2013
Examines why poverty remains pervasive, what it means to be poor in America today, which groups are most likely to be poor, the root causes of poverty, and the effects of policy on poverty.
Reducing Gun Violence in America by Daniel W. Webster (Editor); Jon S. Vernick (Editor); Michael Bloomberg (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781421411101
Publication Date: 2013
Empirical research and legal analysis that will help lawmakers, opinion leaders, and concerned citizens identify policy changes to address mass shootings, along with the less-publicized gun violence that takes an average of 80 lives every day.
Violence Against Women: Current Theory and Practice in Domestic Abuse, Sexual Violence and Exploitation by Lesley McMillan (Editor); Nancy Lombard (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781283975193
Publication Date: 2012
Addresses the issue of domestic violence against women, drawing on research findings, policy developments and current debates to contextualise its alarming prevalence and to propose informed ways of addressing, through training and practice, the needs of both victims and perpetrators in current social and related care provision.