LibGuides: Business Law Guide: Legal Research Resources

Legal Research Databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Note: Off-campus, you may have to close the browser tab and re-open it if an access error message appears.
Primary and secondary legal sources, including both federal and state cases, legal documents, statutes, and regulations, as well as law review articles and the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia.

Law Journal Library (HeinOnline)
Collection of more than 3,200 multidisciplinary scholarly journals. Coverage for all journals is from inception through the most currently published issues
Law Review Commons
Open Access collection of law reviews.
Legal Scholarship Network (SSRN)
An open access preprint server.

Statutory Law - U.S. Code and Regulations

Case Law

U.S. Supreme Court
FastCase
Retreive cases by citation or party name
Federal Cases
Search all Federal cases or narrow your search by jurisdiction (state or circuit).

Indiana Code
Indiana Administrative Code
Indiana Appellate Court Decisions
The website of the Indiana Judicial Branch where current and archived opinions can be read from the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeals and the Tax Court.
Indiana Supreme Court Library
Complimentary remote access to the LexisNexis Digital Library: eBooks, full-text, searchable, digital versions of Burns Indiana Statutes Annotated, practice guides, and other titles. Must request a free user account.

Congressional Bills
This site contains all published versions of bills from the 103rd (1993-1994) Congress forward. May search by keyword or browse bills by Congress or type of legislation.
Executive Orders
Indiana Judicial Branch
Indiana Secretary of State Business Services Homepage
Search Indiana business records and make business filings. Search and make UCC filings.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
It has a patent full-text and image database, as well as instruction for filing for a patent. Site also has extensive information on trademarks and intellectual property law and policies.
Google Patents Search
Search and read the full text of patents from around the world.
SCOTUSblog
Supreme Court Of The United States blog. This is an award-winning website which allows users to search either the blog or the Supreme Court Docket for case information.
Oyez
Listen to recordings of the oral arguments and proceedings of the U.S. Supreme Court with transcripts since 1955.

Business Law and the Legal Environment
An open source textbook selected for BUS 313

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law by Merriam-Webster
ISBN: 0877797196
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
A convenient, comprehensive guide to the language of law for everyone from the homeowner to the legal professional.
Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by Shae Irving; Nolo Editors
ISBN: 9781413327755
Publication Date: 2020-04-01
Everything you ever wanted to know about the law, but couldn't afford to ask
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by Donna Batten (Editor)
ISBN: 1414498993
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Provides information and resources to help users answer their legal questions.