Home - FYWS - Lasso & Leadership - LibGuides at Manchester University

Spartan Search

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Recommended Books

Social Issues in America by James Ciment
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781317459712
Publication Date: 2015
Historical and contemporary details of more than 170 major issues confronting American society. Each entry includes a chronology and bibliography, as well as primary documents and statistical tables highlighting the debates.
A Field Guide to Climate Anxiety by Sarah Jaquette Ray
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780520974722
Publication Date: 2020
Combining insights from psychology, sociology, social movements, mindfulness, and the environmental humanities, Sarah Jaquette Ray explains why and how we need to let go of eco-guilt, resist burnout, and cultivate resilience while advocating for climate justice.
Poverty in America by John Iceland
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780520956797
Publication Date: 2013
Examines why poverty remains pervasive, what it means to be poor in America today, which groups are most likely to be poor, the root causes of poverty, and the effects of policy on poverty.

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking the "Academic Search Complete" link above the search box, checking boxes next to the database names and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
This classic reference work, now online and regularly updated, includes over 800 overview articles on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards.
ERIC* This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Points of View Reference Source* This link opens in a new window
Articles presenting multiple sides of controversial issues.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.