LibGuides: EDUC 211: Foundations of Exceptional Learners: Field Experience Research

Research Article Presentation Objectives

Field Experience Research Essay Objectives:
You will be required to write a reflective and research-supported essay based on your field experience. The following criteria should be taken into consideration:

3-5 typed, double-spaced pages
Writing with the purpose of reflecting upon and analyzing your field experience
- Intro: Include a strong thesis and a hook for your reader. Describe what you did during your experience.
- Body: Explore presumptions and how those were validated or changed. What attitudes, beliefs, and values did you bring with you to the experience? Were you surprised by what you saw? Were you surprised by your own behavior? Connect observations to course content, then discuss ideas for how you could've responded to these situations. Be specific with your examples from your experience. Include your peer-reviewed sources here to support your claims/arguments.
- Conclusion: Reflect on and review your thesis statements. Examine how the experience affected you. Has your outlook on teaching/education changed at all? Did you gain a new insight? What will stay with you as you move forward in your career as a student and a teacher?
Inclusion of at least 3 peer-reviewed sources as evidence to support claims/positions made in your essay
What new questions/thoughts have been generated from the research?

Keywords to Try When Searching

Place quotation marks around phrases of more than 1 word when searching. (EX: "high ability")

Disabilities and Disorders:

Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
Auditory Processing Disorder
Autism
Asperger's Syndrome
Conduct Disorder
Down's Syndrome
Dyslexia
Hearing Impairment
Mentally Retarded
Mild Intellectual Disability (MID)
Mild Mental Retardation
Oppositional Defiant Disorder
Visual Processing Disorder

Add in additional key terms:

Assisted living
Community employment
Learning Disabilities
Learning Styles
Special Education
Special Needs
Transitions
Transportation

Education Databases

Education Databases:

Academic Search Premier
A comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text.
ERIC
Citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, providing a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Psychology Database:

APA PsycArticles
Full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.

EDUC 211: Foundations of Exceptional Learners: Field Experience Research

Research Article Presentation Objectives

Keywords to Try When Searching

Education Databases

High Ability & Mild Disability Wordcloud