Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Article Presentation Objectives
Differentiated Instruction Presentation Objectives:
With partners, you will be required to prepare a 60-minute lesson/presentation for the class. Presentations should include:
- 45 minutes engaging the class in a differentiated learning activity that could be successfully used in a "general education" classroom with exceptional learners. Activities should:
- Be hands-on
- Include class interaction & participation
- Include a supporting document that explains/highlights how you differentiated for exceptional learners & why it fits your chosen disability
- Include at least 3 peer-review sources that support your decision to differentiate the way that you did for your chosen disability
- 10 minute discussion on your research that helped develop your lesson/presentation
- 5 minute Q&A session
Your research should be the focal point of your presentation - not an afterthought. Here are a few tips to making sure this happens:
- Verbally mention the applicable research in your presentation
- Provide examples from your readings that speak to your chosen differentiation
- Base your activities on solid research foundations INSTEAD of fitting the research to an activity you find that may not be grounded in research.
Keywords to Try When Searching
Academic Search Premier
A comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text.
Citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
Professional Development Collection
A highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for educators.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
Education Journal Titles
A peer-reviewed journal with original research on the education and development of exceptional infants, toddlers, children, and youth. Full Text access from 1988-present.
Remedial & Special Education
A peer-reviewed journal containing articles on issues involving the education of persons for whom typical instruction is not effective, interpretation of research literature and recommendations for the practice of remedial and special education. Full Text access from 1993-2008.
Teaching Exceptional Children
A peer-reviewed journal featuring articles dealing with practical methods and materials for classroom use aimed at teachers of children with disabilities and children who are gifted. Full Text from 2001-present.
Infographic credits found HERE