Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Relevant Databases by Subject
*Academic Search Premier
A comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text.
Exercise & Sport Science/Medical Databases
*Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
A bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials in health care. Includes details of published articles taken from bibliographic databases and other published and unpublished sources.
*Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Includes protocols (background, objectives, and methods) for reviews currently being prepared.
*Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Abstracts of systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare around the world. Includes reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist.
*Health Source - Consumer Edition
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health from consumer health magazines.
*Health Source - Nursing Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines as well as abstracts/indexing for 850 more journals.
Citations and abstracts for articles in biomedical journals.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Full text access to over 880 peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences.
*NOTE: Databases with an asterisk next to them are EBSCO databases that can be searched at the same time. To do so, click the Academic Search Premier option and then click the Choose Databases link found above and to the right of the search box. Place checks next to the databases you wish to search at one time.
Relevant Journal Titles
Applied Physiology, Nutrition & Metabolism
A peer-reviewed journal focusing on both basic and applied research articles that examine the relationship between the biological sciences and physical activity, health, and fitness.
Journal of Science and Medicine in Sport
An international refereed research publication covering all aspects of sport science and medicine.
Journal of Sports Science and Medicine
A peer-reviewed journal containing research & review articles, together with case studies, in the fields of sports medicine and the exercise sciences. Also contains editorials, panel meetings, conference & symposia, etc.
A peer-reviewed journal that highlights major advances in the broadly defined field of physiology.
Psychology of Sport and Exercise
An international forum for scholarly reports in the psychology of sport and exercise, broadly defined. The journal is open to the use of diverse methodological approaches.
Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport
A peer-reviewed journal covering topics such as sports and games, physical fitness and hygiene, teaching methods and curriculum in sports science, and public health and safety.
A peer-reviewed publication that covers practical reviews of exercise science and clinically oriented reviews on the etiology, epidemiology, management, treatment and prevention of sports injuries with access to the latest articles by the world's leading experts in sports medicine and exercise science. When accessing this journal, choose the top journal option with ISSN 0112-1642.
Access Online Resources
When off campus, use your MU network username and password to access library resources. This login is case-sensitive, make sure to capitalize the first three letters of your username (first two if you do not use a middle initial). If you need help, contact Darla Haines.
Scholarly Vs. Popular Research
Reading a Scholarly Article
Video: University of Guelph's McLaughlin Library