LibGuides: REL 120: Introduction to Religious Studies: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

221-224 Old Testament
225-228 New Testament
230 Christianity
230.082 Feminist theology
270.5 Christian history
Late Middle Ages through Renaissance
270.6 Christian history
Reformation and Counter-Reformation
290 Religions of India
296 Judaism
297 Islam
299.5 Religions of East and Southeast Asia

Recommended Reference

Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by Angelo Di Berardino
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0830897178
Publication Date: 2014
Covers the first eight centuries of the Christian church and addresses such topics as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, culture, doctrine, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0028664418
Publication Date: 2016
Coverage of the issues, countries, and people that are important in today's world, allowing for an assessment of Islam's influence on all areas of human activity throughout the Middle East, Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas.
Encyclopedia of Religion 2nd ed.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 002865997X
Publication Date: 2005
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Handbook for the Study of the Historical Jesus by Tom Holmén and Stanley E. Porter, eds.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789004210219
Publication Date: 2010
An anthology of historical Jesus studies, featuring diverse methods and approaches, as well as original studies on a variety of related topics.

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 specialized reference works covering every major subject.
Essay & General Literature Index* This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 300,000 articles in more than 25,000 anthologies and essay collections, focusing on the humanities and social sciences, with an additional 300 books and 20 annual series each year.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Humanities Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Religion and Philosophy Collection* This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of scholarly journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Recommended Websites

Al-Islam.org
A digital Islamic library of more than 2,400 resources related to the history, law, practice, and society of the Islamic religion.
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
Religion data and statistics, including national and international survey findings, local, national and global profiles of religion, and detailed reports and maps on church membership and religious denominations in America.
Atla Digital Library
Digitized collections of historical and archival content in religion and theology from libraries, religious institutions, and other organizations worldwide.
Bible Hub
Multiple versions of the Bible available online, with verses keyed to an array of commentaries, sermons, text analyses, and topical studies. Study tools include an atlas, concordance, dictionary, encyclopedia, weights and measures, a timeline, and a topical Bible.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
A compilation of classic Christian texts. Includes biographies, commentaries, creeds and catechisms, fiction, histories, and sermons.
DharmaNet: Worldwide Net of Study, Practice, and Action
Provides a wide range of Buddhist studies resources, including collected texts, audio, and video; discussions of history, and self-study courses.
Feminism & Religion
A blog that explores "the F-word in religion and the intersection between scholarship, activism, and community."
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Religion News Service
An independent, nonprofit source of global news on religion, spirituality, culture and ethics,
Religion Online
An extensive library of resources, representing many different points of view, but all written from the perspective of sound scholarship.

Your Librarian

Darla Haines

Contact:

Library Director / Technical Services Librarian
MU Funderburg Library: Office #109
Phone: 260.982.5949
Email: dvhaines@manchester.edu

Subjects: Art, Education, English, Gender Studies, History, Music, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Theater

Recommended Journals

Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion
Analysis of both individuals' experience with religion and of religious organizations, institutions, and social change. Includes perspectives from the fields of anthropology, economics, health sciences, psychology, and political science. Last 12 months have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Journal of Biblical Literature
Focuses on the academic study of biblical texts and their contexts as well as of the traditions and contexts of biblical interpretation.
**Peer Reviewed
Journal of the American Academy of Religion
Articles covering the full range of world religious traditions together with provocative studies of the methodologies by which these traditions are explored. Tables of contents for the last 5 years can be viewed on the publisher site; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Muslim World
Research on Islam and Muslim societies. Topics include Islamic theology, literature, philosophy and history, as well as historical and current aspects of Muslim-Christian relations.
**Peer Reviewed
Review of Religious Research
Social science research on religion. Topics include ethnicity/race and religion; generational and personal religious change; new religious movements; religion and family; religion and gender, religion and social behavior. Tables of contents for the last 4 years can be viewed on the publisher site; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed