Skip to Main Content

International Students' Library Guide: Library Resources

Content on This Page

Content on This Page
There's more information on this page than you think! Tabs along the top of the page will get you to the different pages of this guide, but within the content itself, you will notice even more tabs to help organize information. 

MU Mobile

In the Library

Books @ Funderburg
Funderburg Library has physical books that can supplement your coursework, but also a section of Best Sellers for leisure reading. Use our Spartan Search catalog to browse a topic, search for a specific title, and find its shelf location. 

 

​Borrowing Policy:
* Check out as many books as you like - just use your MU ID at the Access Services desk!
* Books can be kept for 30 days and can be renewed in person or online
* If we don't have what you're looking for, submit an interlibrary loan request to borrow from another instruction. Ask a librarian for assistance with this.

Browsing the Shelves:
Lower Level: Teaching Resource Collection, 000's - 800's
Main Level: Reference Collection, Best Sellers, New Books
Upper Level: Peace Studies Collection, Music Scores, 900's

DVDs @ Funderburg
An assortment of DVDs can be found on the main level of Funderburg Library, just to the left of the Frick Information Center. Professors will sometimes require you to watch a DVD for a class. It may be on the shelf, or behind the Access Services desk in our Course Reserves collection. Ask at the desk if you're unsure of where the title may be located.

Borrowing Policy:
* Check out 3 DVDs at a time
* Borrow them for a total of 3 days and renew in person or online 

Bound Journals @ Funderburg
An assortment of bound journals can be found on the lower level of the library. These do not circulate, so they can only be used in the library, but photocopying is an option. 

A select few journal titles remain current and can be found on the main floor.  

Borrowing Policy:
* Bound journals are for in-library use only and cannot be checked out 
* Journal titles and magazines on the main floor can be checked out for 24 hrs

Course Reserves
Some classes may have course reserves that can be accessed by asking at the front Access Services desk. Professors sometimes use course reserves for course readings, and in some cases for textbook access. 

Borrowing Policy:
* Course Reserves are available first-come first-serve basis
* Course Reserves are loaned for 2 hours at a time and can be renewed in person if there isn't another student in line for it.

Laptops, Headphones, & More @ Funderburg
Laptops, headphones, cell phone chargers, white boards with dry erase markers, and scientific calculators are available for checkout at the Access Services desk. Just ask for what you need!

Borrowing Policy:
* Laptops: HP's are loaned for 72 hours; Mac's (only 2 available) are loaned for 4 hours at a time. You will need to sign a borrower's agreement prior to loaning a laptop.
* Headphones: Loaned for 4 hours at a time
* Cell Phone Chargers:  2 hours at a time
* White Boards & Dry Erase Markers:  2 hours at a time
* Scientific Calculators: 2 hours at a time

Online

Ebooks @ Funderburg
In addition to the physical books in Funderburg Library's collection, you have over 250,000 Ebooks at your fingertips. Use the Spartan Search catalog to browse a topic, search for a specific title, and use the View Online link to access the book.

Borrowing Policy:
Ebooks are not "checked out" for a certain time period. Simply use the View Online link to gain immediate access to the book you need. Locate the print icon to print specific page ranges, or e-mail the book title to yourself in order to access it again later.

Newspapers @ Funderburg
Funderburg has an assortment of online newspapers available within several of our library databases. 

Newspaper Databases:
Lexis-Nexis Academic
McClatchy-Tribune Collection
New York Times Newspaper
Newspaper Source
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (NEW!)

Journal Articles @ Funderburg
When doing research, you may be required to access scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles. Articles can be accessed using Funderburg's library databases. Databases are listed on the A-Z List of Databases page. 

Unsure of Which Database May Work?
Librarians have created course and subject research guides that can help you get started. Access these guides from the Subject Guides link on our homepage. Once you've found a guide that may work for your research, locate the Articles tab to see a list of starting databases and helpful journal titles.

Librarians are MORE than happy to help you with this type of research. From this guide, click the Library Services tab and locate the section titled Your Librarian for contact information.

And don't forget ... if we don't have the article you're looking for, you can request it via Interlibrary Loan.