Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spartan Search: Books & More
Browse Call Numbers
Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.
Also check the Peace Collection located on the second level in the Quiet Study Room
- 303.6 - Conflict and conflict resolution
- 303.61 - Nonviolence, passive resistance
- 305.896 X1 - Malcolm X
- 322.4 - Protest groups, civil disobedience
- 322.44 - Reform movements
- 323.092 K585 - Martin Luther King, Jr.
- 323.1196 - Civil Rights Movement
- 922.673 K585 - Martin Luther King, Jr.
Searching EBSCO Databases:
After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.
Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Communication & Mass Media Complete* This link opens in a new window
Full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Includes original, comprehensive, and unbiased reporting and analysis on issues in the news from 1991-present.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 specialized reference works covering every major subject.
Essay & General Literature Index* This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 300,000 articles in more than 25,000 anthologies and essay collections, focusing on the humanities and social sciences, with an additional 300 books and 20 annual series each year.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection focusing on history and sociology, with crossover content in a variety of subjects. Producers include Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, BBC, ABC News and The Open University.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.