LibGuides: Masters of Athletic Training Resource Guide: Home

Finding a Scholarly Article

Advanced Article Search
Do you have a title, DOI or PMID for an article that you want? If so, use this advanced search page to find it at Manchester University. If it's not in our collection then you can press the "Request item through interlibrary loan" button and the librarians will work behind the scenes to get you the article at no charge to you!

Recommended Journals

The American Journal of Sports Medicine
Founded in 1972, it is the official publication of the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine. It contains original articles addressed to orthopaedic surgeons specializing in sports medicine, and to team physicians, athletic trainers, and physical therapists focusing on the causes and effects of injury or disease resulting from or affected by athletic injury.
more...less...
1998-present
Journal of Athletic Training
Open access journal published by National Athletic Trainers Association. Articles offer research you can use in daily practice to keep practitioners abreast of scientific advancements.

Recommended Websites

Center for Disease Control and Prevention
A government source of public health information.
National Center for Sports Safety
NCSS "was founded to promote the importance of injury prevention and safety on all levels of the youth sports community through education and research."
National Institute of Health - Health Topics
A publication for athletes, people who exercise, health care professionals, and coaches who want to find out more about health topics.
USDA - Food & Nutrition
A government site with information on food and nutrition.

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

Human Physiology 612
Personal Health and Exercise 613
Diseases 616
Miscellaneous Medical 617
Athletic Training 617.1
Coaching, Sports 796

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Access to videos, self-assessment, and leading physical therapy textbooks. Also includes case studies, drug monographs, and review prep for the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE).
APA PsycArticles* This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
CINAHL Complete* This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Also includes a growing collection of global open access journals, all validated and certified for inclusion.
F.A. Davis Athletic Training Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to athletic training textbooks, cases, videos, and review texts.
F.A. Davis Physical Therapy Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to physical therapy textbooks, cases, videos, and review questions.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Health Source - Consumer Edition* This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health from consumer health magazines
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
The National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
MEDLINE with Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948. It includes links to full-text articles which may be found in other databases such as PubMed Central or at publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 880 peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences.