LibGuides: Spanish Resource Guide: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Recommended Books

Spanish

A Brief History of Mexico by Lynn V. Foster
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781438126296
Publication Date: 2010
Mexican history from pre-Columbian civilizations to the first years of Felipe Calderon's presidency, including his reforms aimed at drug cartels, poverty, restructuring the role of government in private businesses, and attempts to foster trade agreements with other nations.
Collins Spanish Dictionary by Harper Collins Publishers
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780007382385
Publication Date: 2009
Wide-ranging coverage of contemporary Spanish and English, with a wealth of examples and idioms, and a clear colour layout.
The Literature of Spain and Latin America by J. E. Luebering, ed.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781615302291
Publication Date: 2010
Examines the vibrant prose and dynamic range of both Spanish and Latin American authors, whose narratives are informed as much by their imaginations as the turbulent histories of these native lands.
Spain: Be Fluent in Spanish Life and Culture by Andrew Whittaker
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781854187185
Publication Date: 2008
Cultural guide to Spain and the Spanish, outlining the figures, events and movements that have shaped the nation's rich culture.

Common Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

460-468 Spanish language
860-868 Spanish literature
914.6 Spain - Description and travel
946 Spanish history
972 Mexican and Central American history
980 South American history

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of approximately 700,000 images from art, architecture, the humanities and social sciences.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 specialized reference works covering every major subject.
Essay & General Literature Index* This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 300,000 articles in more than 25,000 anthologies and essay collections, focusing on the humanities and social sciences, with an additional 300 books and 20 annual series each year.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full-text and bibliographic coverage from scholarly and popular sources, spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Humanities Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
Literary Reference Plus* This link opens in a new window
Full-text database providing information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.

Foreign Language Databases:

Fuenta Academica Premier* This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly Spanish-language journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.
Referencia Latina* This link opens in a new window
Collection of images, health reports, and full text for Spanish-language reference books and general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas.

Recommended Websites

Biblioteca Digital Hispánica
Digital collections from the National Library of Spain, Including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps, and more.
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Full-texts of works and criticisms organized by subject areas, including Spanish literature, history, children's literature, newspapers, Hispanic culture in America, and more.
elDiario.es
A progressive online Spanish newspaper.
Learning and Teaching Spanish (ThoughtCo.)
Use this comprehensive Spanish language guide to improve reading, writing and comprehension skills for beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels.
Project Gutenberg - Spanish Texts
Public domain texts by Spanish-language authors in all genres and literary periods. Authors include Cervantes, Dario, Ortega y Gasset, Palacio-Valdés, Pérez Galdós, Unamuno, Valera, and Zorilla.
StudySpanish.com
Bite-sized lessons in pronunciation, grammar, vocabulary, and verb conjugations. Also includes side-by-side English/Spanish readings on various aspects of Spanish culture.

Your Librarian

Darla Haines

Contact:

Library Director / Technical Services Librarian
MU Funderburg Library: Office #109
Phone: 260.982.5949
Email: dvhaines@manchester.edu

Subjects: Art, Education, English, Gender Studies, History, Music, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Theater

Recommended Journals

Bulletin of Hispanic Studies
Articles on the languages, literatures and civilizations of Spain, Portugal and Latin America, including cultural history, film and visual arts, cultural and gender studies.
**Peer Reviewed
Hispanic American Historical Review
Articles cover thematic, chronological, regional, and methodological specializations in the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States. Last 12 months have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan Pre-1997 issues are available on JSTOR.
**Peer Reviewed
Hispanic Review
Essays and book reviews on the diverse cultural manifestations of Spain and Latin America, from the medieval period to the present. Pre-1990 issues available on JSTOR.
**Peer Reviewed

Spanish Resource Guide: Home