LibGuides: Art Resource Guide: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

709 History of art
720 Architecture
738 Ceramic arts
741 Drawing and drawings
750 Painting and paintings
770 Photography

Recommended Reference

ART by Robert Belton
Call Number: 709 Ar75b
ISBN: 9780823003426
Publication Date: 2002
More than just the usual survey of Western art, this book captures the great artists, art movements, and cultures from all over the world.
The Dictionary of Art by Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: R 703 D561t
ISBN: 9780195170689
Publication Date: 2003
This 34 volume set offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts.
The Oxford Companion to Western Art by Hugh Brigstocke (Editor)
Call Number: 703 Ox2b
ISBN: 9780198662037
Publication Date: 2001
This work focuses on Western art, concentrating primarily on painting, sculpture, and the graphic arts.Topics of interest include patronage, taste, theory and criticism, materials and techniques, and the new art history.

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of approximately 700,000 images from art, architecture, the humanities and social sciences.
Biography Reference Source* This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies, including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Humanities Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.

Recommended Websites

ARTnews
This companion website to the magazine reports on the art, people, issues, trends, and events shaping the international art world.
Google Arts & Culture
Explore the collections of over 2,000 museums around the world, see over 10,000 famous sites in street view, and use the app on your phone to turn your selfie into a work of art!
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the timeline combines essays, works of art and chronologies to tell the story of art and global culture through the Museum's collection.
MetPublications
Five decades of Met publication on art history, available to search, read, and download for free.
smarthstory
3,000 videos and essays on art history from prehistory to the present.
Visual Arts (ThoughtCo)
Award winning education site's Visual Arts section includes articles on art and artists, art history, and architecture.

Your Librarian

Darla Haines

Contact:

Library Director / Technical Services Librarian
MU Funderburg Library: Office #109
Phone: 260.982.5949
Email: dvhaines@manchester.edu

Subjects: Art, Education, English, Gender Studies, History, Music, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Theater

Recommended Journals/Magazines

African Arts
Articles on the plastic and graphic arts of Africa, broadly defined to encompass sculpture in wood, metal, ceramic, ivory and stone, and less familiar work in fiber, hide, mud and other materials used in personal adornment and architecture.
American Craft
Includes artist profiles, exhibition reviews, lists of museum and gallery exhibits, and discussions of historical as well as contemporary crafts.
Art Journal
Journal arranged thematically under a guest editor including articles by and about artists, exhibition reviews, book reviews and lists of books and catalogues received.
Ceramics Monthly
Articles, information and resources for and about ceramics and pottery.
Woman's Art Journal
Covers women artists and issues related to women in all areas of the visual arts.

Art Resource Guide: Home