LibGuides: Gender Studies Resource Guide: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

155.333 Women (Psychology)
230.082 Feminist theology
305.4 Women/Feminism
305.42 Social role/status of women
306.76 Sexual orientation
362.83 Social welfare of women
809.8928 Women and literature

Recommended Reference

Encyclopedia of Women in American History by Joyce Appleby, Eileen Chang and Neva Goodwin
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781317471622
Publication Date: 2015
Examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present. Includes historical surveys and thematic essays on central issues and political changes affecting women's lives during each period. Primary sources and original documents are included throughout.
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements by JoAnne Myers
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780810874688
Publication Date: 2013
Covers the history of the lesbian and gay liberation movements through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions.
Feminist Philosophies A-Z by Nancy Arden McHugh
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780748629497
Publication Date: 2007
This guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy illustrates the complexity, range and interconnectedness of issues in feminist philosophy while making clear the relationship of feminist philosophy to the rest of philosophy as a discipline.

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Biography Reference Bank* This link opens in a new window
In-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, along with thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index. Also provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 specialized reference works covering every major subject.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Humanities Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Now includes former Artstor cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images.
Literary Reference Plus* This link opens in a new window
Full-text database providing information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.

Recommended Websites

UN Women - Digital Library
UN Women focuses on priority areas in development and human rights that are fundamental to women's equality. The digital library includes publications on economic empowerment, gender equality, ending violence, employment and more.
Discovering American Women's History Online
A database that provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
Institute for Women's Policy Research
IWPR conducts and communicates research to inspire public dialogue, shape policy, and improve the lives and opportunities of women of diverse backgrounds, circumstances, and experiences. Issues covered include health and safety, work and family, poverty, welfare and income security, democracy and society, and employment, education and economic change. All publications are available for free download.

Your Librarian

Darla Haines

Contact:

Library Director / Technical Services Librarian
MU Funderburg Library: 109
Phone: 260.982.5949
Email: dvhaines@manchester.edu

Subjects: Art, Communication Studies, Education, English, Gender Studies, General, History, Music, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology & Social Work, Spanish, Theater

Recommended Journals

Gender and Society
Promotes feminist scholarship and the social scientific study of gender through a multidisciplinary, intersectional, and global approach to gender analyses. Last 3 years have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity
A forum for scholarly dialogue that explores the multifaceted aspects of sexual orientation and gender diversity. Covers topics that advance the psychological knowledge of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals and their families, such as couples and marriage, health and health care, aging, work, and careers.
**Peer Reviewed
Sex Roles
Articles explore how gender organizes people’s lives and their surrounding worlds, including gender identities, belief systems, representations, interactions, relations, organizations, institutions, and statuses. Last 12 months have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Signs
Articles of interdisciplinary interest addressing gender, race, culture, class, nation, and/or sexuality. Older issues available in JSTOR.
**Peer Reviewed
Transgender Health
The journal dedicated to delivering authoritative, peer-reviewed research and clinical studies focused exclusively on meeting the healthcare needs of transgender individuals throughout their lifespan.

Gender Studies Resource Guide: Home