Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spartan Search: Books & More
Browse Call Numbers
Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.
Common Call Numbers
- 155.333 Women (Psychology)
- 230.082 Feminist theology
- 305.4 Women/Feminism
- 305.42 Social role/status of women
- 306.76 Sexual orientation
- 362.83 Social welfare of women
- 809.8928 Women and literature
Encyclopedia of Women in American History by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present. Includes historical surveys and thematic essays on central issues and political changes affecting women's lives during each period. Primary sources and original documents are included throughout.
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Covers the history of the lesbian and gay liberation movements through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions.
Feminist Philosophies A-Z by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
This guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy illustrates the complexity, range and interconnectedness of issues in feminist philosophy while making clear the relationship of feminist philosophy to the rest of philosophy as a discipline.
Searching EBSCO Databases:
After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.
Academic Search Complete*
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Biography Reference Bank*
In-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, along with thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index. Also provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
A collection of over 500 specialized reference works covering every major subject.
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Humanities Full Text*
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Literary Reference Center Plus*
Full-text database providing information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Social Sciences Full Text*
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.
UN Women - Digital Library
UN Women focuses on priority areas in development and human rights that are fundamental to women's equality. The digital library includes publications on economic empowerment, gender equality, ending violence, employment and more.
Discovering American Women's History Online
A database that provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
Institute for Women's Policy Research
IWPR conducts and communicates research to inspire public dialogue, shape policy, and improve the lives and opportunities of women of diverse backgrounds, circumstances, and experiences. Issues covered include health and safety, work and family, poverty, welfare and income security, democracy and society, and employment, education and economic change. All publications are available for free download.
, Gender Studies
, Peace Studies
Gender and Society
Promotes feminist scholarship and the social scientific study of gender through a multidisciplinary, intersectional, and global approach to gender analyses. Last 3 years have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity
A forum for scholarly dialogue that explores the multifaceted aspects of sexual orientation and gender diversity. Covers topics that advance the psychological knowledge of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals and their families, such as couples and marriage, health and health care, aging, work, and careers.
Articles explore how gender organizes people’s lives and their surrounding worlds, including gender identities, belief systems, representations, interactions, relations, organizations, institutions, and statuses. Last 12 months have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
Articles of interdisciplinary interest addressing gender, race, culture, class, nation, and/or sexuality. Older issues available in JSTOR.
Not finding what you need? Use the contact information below!