LibGuides: FYWS: What is Art?: Home

Using this Guide

Library Guide Introduction and Tour

from Manchester Library

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

709.03 - history of art, 1500-1899 (includes movements)
709.04 - history of art, 20th century (includes movements)
720 - architecture
730 - sculpture
730.9 - sculpture - history, biography
759 - paintings and painting - history, biography

Recommended Books

100 Ideas That Changed Art by Michael Bird
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781856697958
Publication Date: 2012
From the earliest cave paintings through to the internet and street art, this inspiring book chronicles the 100 most influential ideas that have shaped the world of art.
Aesthetics A-Z by Eran Guter
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780748630066
Publication Date: 2010
Covers the main concepts, arguments, problems and key figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art.
Art History: the Basics by Diana Newall; Grant Pooke
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780203098806
Publication Date: 2008
A concise and accessible introduction for the general reader and the undergraduate, covering key ideas, issues and debates in art history, including information on relevant websites and image archives.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by Helene E. Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: 704.9 En19r
ISBN: 9781579580094
Publication Date: 1998
Analysis of how various mythological, Biblical, and literary themes have been treated in literature, art, music, and the performing arts.
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Sylvan Barnet
Call Number: 808.066 B264sa10
ISBN: 9780205708253
Publication Date: 2010
This guide to analyzing pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture provides the tools needed to present ideas through effective writing.

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of approximately 700,000 images from art, architecture, the humanities and social sciences.
Biography Reference Center* This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies, including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Humanities Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.

Recommended Websites

Art History -- Khan Academy
Brief instructional videos on art history from Paleolithic to Pop.
ARTnews
This companion website to the magazine reports on the art, people, issues, trends, and events shaping the international art world.
Google Arts & Culture
Explore the collections of over 2,000 museums around the world, see over 10,000 famous sites in street view, and use the app on your phone to turn your selfie into a work of art!
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history with examples from the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
smarthstory
3,000 videos and essays on art history: prehistory - present.
Visual Arts (ThoughtCo)
Award winning education site's Visual Arts section includes articles on art and artists, art history, and architecture.
Writing About Art
Text created for a course on writing about art. Includes information on writing a visual description and biography, as well as doing stylistic, iconographic, and historical analysis.

Instruction and Access Services Librarian

Angie Fisher

Email Me

Contact:

Instruction & Access Services Librarian
Phone: 260.982.5028
Text: 260.232.2755
Email: asfisher@manchester.edu

Library Website
A-Z Databases
A-Z Journals
Citation Linker

Subjects: Accounting, Biology, Business, Exercise Science & Athletic Training