LibGuides: INTD 425: Environmental Philosophy: Resources & Research Tips

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
GreenFile* This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This full-text, multidisciplinary database includes scholarly journals in the biological sciences, environmental science, and geology.
Science This link opens in a new window
Online access to the journal Science from 1997 to the present.
Science Reference Source* This link opens in a new window
Full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources. Includes a vast collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.

Research Tips

Find Subject Headings

Use keywords to find a good article
Click on the title
Click Detailed Record icon on the left side of the screen
Use Subject Terms to focus your search
Look at Author Supplied Keywords and the abstract for additional keywords

Click image to enlarge

Find Similar Articles

Recommended Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search specialized reference works for topics in the environmental sciences such as climate change, sustainable development, and descriptions of a variety of ecosystems.

Ecology and Ecosystems by Craig W. Allin, editor
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781429836715
Publication Date: 2011
Articles in this volume of the Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues provide overviews on cultural and historical ecology, biodiversity, and environmental education. Other topics examine specific ecosystems, such as the Amazon River basin and the Chesapeake Bay.
Green Ethics and Philosophy by Julie Newman, editor
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781412996877
Publication Date: 2011
Covers the moral relationship between humans and their natural environment, specifically targeting the contemporary green movement. Includes approximately 150 signed entries, traversing a wide range of curricular disciplines, including philosophy, psychology, business, economics, religion, and political science.
Green Issues and Debates by Howard S. Schiffman, editor
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781452266268
Publication Date: 2011
Explores the multitude of threats to sustainable life on earth and the myriad of controversies surrounding potential solutions. Includes more than 150 articles focusing on issues brought to the forefront by the green movement with carefully balanced pro and con viewpoints.

Recommended Websites

Census.gov This link opens in a new window
A leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Location-specific environmental Information, including data about air and water quality, pollutants, and greenhouse gas emissions.
Indiana Department of Natural Resources
Most U.S. states have a Department of Natural Resources or similar government agency that protects and manages state parks, nature preserves, waterways, and wildlife.
U.S. Geological Survey
Provides scientific research and data on natural hazards, natural resources, ecosystems and environmental health, and the effects of climate and land-use change.

Google Tips

Quotation Marks: search "environmental justice" as a phrase

Asterisk: sustainab* searches for sustainable, sustainability

Domain Search: limit search to a specific domain
EXAMPLE: "environmental justice" site:org