LibGuides: MBA Resource Guide: Overview of the Business Library

How to use this Research Guide

Watch this video to get started.

This guide is designed to connect MBA students to Manchester University's library research resources. This page highlights popular and frequently used resources that may help with starting a research project including a list of recommended databases for specialized research on business topics. At the Funderburg Library, we provide specialized research support and personalized user instruction. You might also find the below listed guides helpful.

A-Z Database List - If you are looking for a specific database

Business Law Guide - For instruction on how and where to do legal research

Business Resource Guide - A general library research guide for business majors

Recommended Databases for Business Research

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface* This link opens in a new window
This focused user interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 specialized reference works covering every major subject.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Delivers insightful information on more than 130 million businesses, both public and private, around the world; including the UK, Europe, Asia Pacific and emerging markets. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information.
EBSCO Management Collection* This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the diverse information needs of today's companies, this database contains full text articles from nearly 1200 quality magazines and journals.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source* This link opens in a new window
The latest insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. Includes full text for business journals, magazines and reference books, as well as case studies and company profiles.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Includes profiles for over 900 industry segments offering critical analysis, statistics, and forecasts, as well as U.S. state profiles to monitor employment, business and real estate trends.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Also includes demographic data from the latest census report and a job search database.
Regional Business News* This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, full text coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
Provides accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies. Includes the latest data, sophisticated tools and proven ranks, as well as expert analysis and guidance.
WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Note: Off-campus, you may have to close the browser tab and re-open it if an access error message appears.
Primary and secondary legal sources, including both federal and state cases, legal documents, statutes, and regulations, as well as law review articles and the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia.