LibGuides: Pharmacy: Databases & Indexes

Finding Guidelines

Clinical Trials

Databases & Indexes

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles* This link opens in a new window
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic* This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study
CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.
Note: Log in to SciFinder-n with your SciFinder account. If you don't have an account, register here before accessing the database.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Health Source - Nursing Academic Edition* This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals. Topics include pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948. It includes links to full-text articles which may be found in other databases such as PubMed Central or at publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 880 peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences.

National Library of Medicine Resources for Healthcare Professionals

Note: Log in to SciFinder-n with your SciFinder account. If you don't have an account, register here before accessing the database.

** Provided by the INSPIRE Project, State of Indiana

Boolean Operators

Using Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT) with your keywords will help you narrow or expand your results.

The highlighted middle section represents the use of AND. Searching for poverty AND addiction will give you results with both words present. Therefore, your results are fewer.

Using OR between similar keywords will give you results that include both words. Therefore, your results are greater. A search for teenagers OR adolescents will retrieve either or both terms.

The NOT operator gives you results from only one of your words. Therefore, your results are fewer. Searching for addiction NOT alcohol will eliminate alcohol from the results.

Click images to enlarge