LibGuides: ESS 113: Emergency Care for the Physically Active: Articles

Spartan Search: Articles

Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, & MasterFILE Complete

Relevant Databases by Subject

General Database

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.

Exercise & Sport Science/Medical Databases

Health Source - Consumer Edition* This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health from consumer health magazines
Health Source - Nursing Academic Edition* This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals. Topics include pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948. It includes links to full-text articles which may be found in other databases such as PubMed Central or at publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 880 peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences.

*NOTE: Databases with an asterisk next to them are EBSCO databases that can be searched at the same time. To do so, click the Academic Search Complete option and then click the Choose Databases link found above and to the right of the search box. Place checks next to the databases you wish to search at one time.

Relevant Journal Titles

Applied Physiology, Nutrition & Metabolism
A peer-reviewed journal focusing on both basic and applied research articles that examine the relationship between the biological sciences and physical activity, health, and fitness.
Journal of Science and Medicine in Sport
An international refereed research publication covering all aspects of sport science and medicine.
Journal of Sports Science and Medicine
A peer-reviewed journal containing research & review articles, together with case studies, in the fields of sports medicine and the exercise sciences. Also contains editorials, panel meetings, conference & symposia, etc.
Physiology
A peer-reviewed journal that highlights major advances in the broadly defined field of physiology.
Psychology of Sport and Exercise
An international forum for scholarly reports in the psychology of sport and exercise, broadly defined. The journal is open to the use of diverse methodological approaches.
Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport
A peer-reviewed journal covering topics such as sports and games, physical fitness and hygiene, teaching methods and curriculum in sports science, and public health and safety.
Sports Medicine
A peer-reviewed publication that covers practical reviews of exercise science and clinically oriented reviews on the etiology, epidemiology, management, treatment and prevention of sports injuries with access to the latest articles by the world's leading experts in sports medicine and exercise science. When accessing this journal, choose the top journal option with ISSN 0112-1642.

Off-Campus Access

When off campus, use your MU network username and password to access library resources. This login is case-sensitive, make sure to capitalize the first three letters of your username (first two if you do not use a middle initial). If you need help, contact Darla Haines.

ESS 113: Emergency Care for the Physically Active: Articles

Spartan Search: Articles

Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, & MasterFILE Complete

Relevant Databases by Subject

Relevant Journal Titles

Off-Campus Access

Scholarly Vs. Popular Research

Reading a Scholarly Article