LibGuides: COMM 110: Foundations of Human Communication: Resources & Research Tips

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
ERIC* This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
MasterFILE Complete* This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering virtually every subject area of general interest.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.

Google Tips

Quotation Marks: search "college students" as a phrase

Asterisk: volunteer* searches for volunteer, volunteering, volunteerism

Domain Search: limit search to a specific domain
EXAMPLE: "college students" volunteer* site:org

Research Tips

Find Subject Headings

Use keywords to find a good article
Click on the title
Click Detailed Record icon on the left side of the screen
Use Subject Terms to focus your search
Look at Author Supplied Keywords and the abstract for additional keywords

Find Similar Articles