Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Political Science Databases
Academic Search Premier
A comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text.
Includes original, comprehensive, and unbiased reporting and analysis on issues in the news from 1991-present
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. In the Advanced Search area, choose the Political Science discipline when searching.
Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
Political Science Journal Titles
American Journal of Political Science
The official publication of the Midwest Political Science Association. A general review open to all areas of the discipline of political science.
American Political Science Review
Features research from all fields of political science and contains an extensive book review section of the discipline.
Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science
Each issue of the Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, guest edited by scholars and experts in the field, presents more than 200 pages of timely, in-depth research on a significant topic of interest to its readership which includes academics, researchers, policymakers, and professionals.
Congress & The Presidency
Feature articles, review articles and book reviews on all aspects of Congress, the Presidency and incorporating policy making, broadly defined; combining the disciplines of history and political science.
Reports on pros and cons, background and verbatim arguments of legislation before Congress, each issue dealing with one law under consideration.
Political Science Quarterly
A nonpartisan journal devoted to the study of contemporary and historical aspects of government, politics and international affairs.
Presidential Studies Quarterly
A scholarly journal devoted exclusively to the U.S. presidency. Subject coverage includes individual presidents, White House operations, presidential decision-making, and relations between the Executive Office and Congress, the courts, the bureaucracy, and the public, among many other topics examined. Also includes review essays and book reviews. This is the flagship publication of the Center for the Study of the Presidency (CSP), a non-partisan and non-profit organization..
United States Office of the President
Access Online Resources
When off campus, use your MU network username and password to access library resources. This login is case-sensitive, make sure to capitalize the first three letters of your username (first two if you do not use a middle initial). If you need help, contact Darla Haines.
Scholarly Vs. Popular Research
Reading a Scholarly Article
Video: University of Guelph's McLaughlin Library