LibGuides: Chemistry Resource Guide: Home

Finding a Scholarly Article

Advanced Article Search
Do you have a title, DOI or PMID for an article that you want? If so, use this advanced search page to find it at Manchester University. If it's not in our collection then you can press the "Request item through interlibrary loan" button and the librarians will work behind the scenes to get you the article at no charge to you!

Recommended Websites

American Chemical Society
Articles and information presented by the American Chemical Society, a not-for-profit advancing the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people.
ChemSynthesis
ChemSynthesis is a freely accessible database of chemicals containing substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density.
Organic Syntheses
Annual collections of detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
PubChem
Find chemical information from authoritative sources.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
IR, UV, mass, and vibrational spectra, as well as themochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data on nearly 36,000 species. Compiled by the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology.
Periodic Table (ACS)
Periodic Table from the American Chemical Society.

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Your Library Account

Recommended Databases

CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.
Note: Log in to SciFinder-n with your SciFinder account. If you don't have an account, register here before accessing the database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948. It includes links to full-text articles which may be found in other databases such as PubMed Central or at publisher web sites.
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 20 core journals published by the American Chemical Society, along with token access to other ACS content.
Note: A limited number of tokens are included with our subscription each year. Please download articles with token access to help conserve tokens.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 880 peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
A collection of critical reviews published annually in disciplinary areas within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
MEDLINE with Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE.