LibGuides: Communication Studies Resource Guide: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

302.2 Communication
302.23 Media (Means of communication)
302.231 Digital media
302.232 Print media
302.234 Motion pictures, radio, television
303.482 Intercultural communication

Recommended Reference

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by James Watson; Anne Hill
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781628921496
Publication Date: 2015
A gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications, this edition provides a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by Stephen W. Littlejohn (Editor); Karen A. Foss (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781452265797
Publication Date: 2009
Provides students and researchers with a comprehensive two-volume overview of contemporary communication theory. More than 300 entries address topics related not only to paradigms, traditions, and schools, but also metatheory, methodology, inquiry, and applications and contexts.
Encyclopedia of New Media by Steve Jones (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781452265285
Publication Date: 2002
More than 250 in-depth entries that place new communication technology, multimedia, entertainment and e-commerce within their social context.

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface* This link opens in a new window
This focused user interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.
Communication & Mass Media Complete* This link opens in a new window
Full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full-text and bibliographic coverage from scholarly and popular sources, spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Points of View Reference Source* This link opens in a new window
Articles presenting multiple sides of controversial issues.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.

Recommended Websites

American Rhetoric
Compilation of 5,000+ public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, and interviews, including the top 100 most significant political speeches of the 20th century.
Center for Media Literacy
Resources for promoting and supporting media literacy education.
Ethics Unwrapped
Videos, case studies, and curated resources on the ethical aspects of leadership; media, arts & culture; and science, medicine & research. From the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
IDRInstitute Resources
Articles and chapters available for download from the Intercultural Development Research Institute focus on constructivist approaches to intercultural topics.
PR Web - Resources
Articles, white papers, webinars and videos designed for PR professionals.

Your Librarian

Darla Haines

Contact:

Library Director / Technical Services Librarian
MU Funderburg Library: 109
Phone: 260.982.5949
Email: dvhaines@manchester.edu

Subjects: Art, Communication Studies, Education, English, Gender Studies, General, History, Music, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology & Social Work, Spanish, Theater

Recommended Journals

Communication & Society
Covers a wide variety of communication topics including journalism studies, advertising, public relations, broadcast and film studies, political communication, ethics, media history, communication policy, political economy and new media.
Communication, Culture & Critique
An international forum for critical research in communication, media, and cultural studies.
Communicaton Theory
Original articles and book reviews concerning linguistic and communications theories.
ETC: A Review of General Semantics
Articles in the field of general semantics, new developments, academic studies, theory, practice, humor, insights and book reviews.
Journal of Communication
Articles and book reviews examining a broad range of issues in communication theory, research, practice and policy.
Media and Communication
An international open access journal dedicated to a wide variety of basic and applied research in communication and its related fields.

Communication Studies Resource Guide: Home