LibGuides: Education Resource Guide: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

370 - education
370.1 - education philosophy
370.15 - educational psychology
370.152 - cognitive learning
371 - school management / special education
371.26 - standardized testing
371.3 - methods of instruction
371.5 - school discipline
372 - elementary education
373 - secondary education

Praxis Study Guides @ Funderburg

Access study guides, interactive flashcards and practice tests for 16 Praxis exams.

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
ERIC* This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Professional Development Collection* This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, providing a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals.
Teacher Reference Center* This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Recommended Websites

American Educational Research Association (AERA) - Issues and Initiatives
Reports on issues and trends in education.
Edutopia
Evidence-based learning strategies that empower teachers to improve K-12 education.
Learning Forward
Resources for school improvement and professional development. Some, but not all, are members only.
National Education Association (NEA)
See the Tools and Ideas section for lesson plans, teaching strategies, and advice and support.
Annenberg Learner
Educational video programs with coordinated materials for K-12 teacher professional development.

Your Librarian

Darla Haines

Contact:

Library Director / Technical Services Librarian
MU Funderburg Library: Office #109
Phone: 260.982.5949
Email: dvhaines@manchester.edu

Subjects: Art, Education, English, Gender Studies, History, Music, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Theater

Recommended Journals

Reading Research Quarterly
The leading peer-reviewed professional research journal for those committed to scholarship on questions of literacy among learners of all ages.
**Peer Reviewed
Review of Educational Research
Publishes critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education, including conceptualizations, interpretations, and syntheses of literature and scholarly work in a field broadly relevant to education and educational research.
Education
Original investigations and theoretical papers dealing with worthwhile innovations in learning, teaching and education at all levels and in every area of education and learning.
more...less...
Peer Reviewed.

Education Resource Guide: Home