LibGuides: English Resource Guide: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

070.4 Journalism
420.9 History of English language
425 English grammar and syntax
428.007 Teaching English as a second language
808.2 Style guides
808.042 Rhetoric
810 - 819 American literature
820 - 829 British literature
822.33 Shakespeare
840 French and related literatures
860 Spanish and Portuguese literature
880 Classical and modern Greek literatures

Recommended Reference

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language by David Crystal
Call Number: 420 C889c2
ISBN: 9780521823487
Publication Date: 2003
This second edition includes 44 new illustrations, extensive new material on world English and Internet English, a complete updating of statistics, further reading suggestions and other references.
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism by Michael Groden, Martin Kreiswirth and Imre Szeman, eds.
Call Number: 801.95 J622g2
ISBN: 9780801880100
Publication Date: 2004
A comprehensive historical survey of ideas and individuals ranging from Plato and Aristotle to twentieth-century scholars. Includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
The Oxford Companion to African American Literature by William L. Andrews, Frances Smith and Trudier Harris, eds; Foreword by Henry Louis Gates
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780195065107
Publication Date: 1997
Entries on African American authors, major works of African American literature, literary characters, character types, and icons of black culture. Also includes general articles on the traditional literary genres and on genres of special import in African American letters.

Encyclopedia of American Literature
Encyclopedia of American Literature, Third Edition is an extensive reference work that spans the entire scope of American literature, from the colonial period to the present.

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Biography Reference Bank* This link opens in a new window
In-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, along with thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index. Also provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete* This link opens in a new window
Full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 specialized reference works covering every major subject.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Humanities Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Now includes former Artstor cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images.
Literary Reference Plus* This link opens in a new window
Full-text database providing information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
MagillOnLiterature Plus* This link opens in a new window
Editorially reviewed critical analyses, character studies, author biographies and plot summaries of the most studied literary works.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.

Recommended Websites

Fantastic Fiction
Search and browse the complete works of over 50,000 bestselling fiction authors, with the latest books and series listed in order.
Internet Shakespeare Editions
In addition to the texts of all the plays and poems, this site includes information on Shakespeare's life and times, as well as a database of materials from over 1,000 films and stage productions.
The Literature Network
Public domain texts from over 3500 books and over 4400 short stories and poems by over 260 authors. Also includes articles on literary periods, movements and history.
Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
An extensive site with biographical information, electronic texts, essays, and other resources on English literature from 1350-1785.
poets.org
This site from the Academy of American Poets contains full text poems from both contemporary and historical poets, along with biographical information, essays and interviews, information about poetic schools and movements, and articles on poetic forms and techniques.
The Victorian Web
Started over 30 years ago, the Victorian Web is designed to provide connections between literature, history and culture in the age of Victoria.

Your Librarian

Darla Haines

Contact:

Library Director / Technical Services Librarian
MU Funderburg Library: 109
Phone: 260.982.5949
Email: dvhaines@manchester.edu

Subjects: Art, Communication Studies, Education, English, Gender Studies, General, History, Music, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology & Social Work, Spanish, Theater

Featured Resource

OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Updated regularly, this is the complete OED in its most recent version—including all work to date on the Third Edition. Includes authoritative definitions of over 600,000 words, traces word usage through history, offers etymological analysis, and provides detailed listings of variant spellings.

Recommended Journals

Papers on Language and Literature
Articles, notes and book reviews on literary history, theory and interpretation and original material such as letters, journals and notebooks aimed at scholars and critics of language and literature.
**Peer Reviewed
PMLA
Essays on language and literature published by the Modern Language Association of America. Last 5 years have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Comparative Literature
Drawing on a variety of theoretical and critical approaches, this journal represents a wide-ranging look at the intersections of national literatures, global literary trends, and theoretical discourse. Last 5 years have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature
Literary, historicist, and theoretical work in women's literature and feminist criticism. Pre-2007 issues available in JSTOR.
**Peer Reviewed

English Resource Guide: Home