LibGuides: History Resource Guide: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

305.8 Race and ethnicity
930 History of the ancient world to ca. 499
940 History of Europe
941 British History
942 History of England and Wales
945 Italian history
951 Chinese history
954 History of India and South Asia
959 Southeast Asian history
973 U.S. history
980 History of South America (Latin America)

Recommended Reference

African Americans by Carl L. Bankston, ed.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781587657474
Publication Date: 2011
Entries cover more than 770 people from colonial times through the present, offering fascinating perspectives on black American history.
The Encyclopedia of World History by Peter N. Stearns, ed. William L. Langer
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780395652374
Publication Date: 2001
More than 20,000 chronological entries grouped by geographic region showcase traditional facts of national leadership and state power, along with social and cultural developments, non-European history, women's history, religion, health, economics, and technology.
The Reader's Companion to American History by John A. Garraty and Eric Foner, eds.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780547561349
Publication Date: 2014
An A-to-Z historical encyclopedia of U.S. people, places, and events, with nearly 1,000 entries covering the political, economic, cultural, and social history of America.

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Biography Reference Bank* This link opens in a new window
In-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, along with thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index. Also provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Source* This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies, including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 specialized reference works covering every major subject.
Essay & General Literature Index* This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 300,000 articles in more than 25,000 anthologies and essay collections, focusing on the humanities and social sciences, with an additional 300 books and 20 annual series each year.
Films on Demand - History Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of documentaries, educational videos, interviews, speeches, and newsreels covering history topics from the ancient world to the present day.
History Reference Source* This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of primary source documents and informational texts.
Humanities Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.

Recommended Websites

Census.gov
A leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Digital collections, including many primary sources, from libraries, archives, and museums across the U.S.
Digital History
U.S. history resources including an e-textbook, primary source documents and images, timelines, speeches, and multimedia.
World History Encyclopedia
A growing collection of articles, media, maps, and timelines.

Your Librarian

Darla Haines

Contact:

Library Director / Technical Services Librarian
MU Funderburg Library: Office #109
Phone: 260.982.5949
Email: dvhaines@manchester.edu

Subjects: Art, Education, English, Gender Studies, History, Music, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Theater

Recommended Journals

American Historical Review
Scholarship from every major field of historical study, along with approximately one thousand book reviews per year, surveying and reporting the most important contemporary historical scholarship in the discipline.
**Peer reviewed
The Journal of African American History
Original scholarly articles and book reviews on all aspects of the African American experience. Last 3 years have tables of contents; follow the link on the journal home page for current issues. Articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Journal of Women's History
Cutting-edge scholarship from around the globe in all historical periods that recognizes the multiple perspectives captured by the term "feminisms."
**Peer reviewed
Past & Present
A wide variety of scholarly and original articles on historical, social and cultural change in all parts of the world.
**Peer reviewed

History Resource Guide: Home