LibGuides: Streaming Media: Home

Cultural Heritage

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Select the "moving images" filter after performing any keyword search to find videos from America's libraries, archives, and museums.
Europeana
Select the "video" filter after performing any keyword search to find videos from Europe's libraries, archives, and museums
EUscreen
Containing thousands of items of audiovisual heritage, EUscreen brings together clips that provide an insight into the social, cultural, political and economic events that have shaped the 20th and 21st centuries.

History

British National Archives Media Player
Original video and audio content from the British National Archives, including categories of Family History, Military History, Social History, Political History, Law and Order, Archives, and International.
C-SPAN Video Library
Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987. In addition to congressional sessions and Supreme Court oral arguments, the site includes American History TV, C-SPAN specials, and series like Washington Journal, Booknotes, and Newsmakers.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Provides access to online films, texts, images, and audio recordings related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States in the 1950's and 1960's. Includes numerous instructional materials, such as lesson plans, quizzes, slide shows, study guides, and worksheets.
Folkstreams
A large collection of documentary films about American folk, or roots, cultures. Includes essays about the traditions and filmmakers, transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
The Great Depression Interviews
Filmed for a 1993 PBS 7-part series, these interviews focus on individual experiences of key events during the Great Depression, including eyewitness accounts of the Memorial Day Massacre of 1937, the New Deal, the End Poverty in California (EPIC) movement, the early work of the NAACP, and the labor movement.
A History of the World in 100 Objects (BBC)
Director of the British Museum, Neil MacGregor, narrates 100 programs that retell humanity's history through the objects we have made.
U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum
Use the Digital Availability and Film, Audio, and Video filters to find propaganda films, newsreel footage, and oral history testimonials.

News

Al Jazeera Video
Video from Al Jazeera, a private, independent news organization originating from the Middle East.
Associated Press - Archived Video
Access over 1.7 million news video stories dating back to 1895, sourced from AP's own coverage and their premium content partners
British Movietone
Spanning the period 1895–1986, this global archive contains many of the world’s enduring images and is rich in coverage of news events, celebrities, sports, music, lifestyle, social history, and science. (Part of the AP Archive)
British Pathé
This newsreel archive of 85,000 films, covering the years from 1896 to 1976, includes footage from Britain and around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, sport and culture. Coverage is particularly strong for the First and Second World Wars.
Internet Archive TV News
Clips from over 2 million U.S. news shows since 2009.

Film & Television

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
More than 7,000 public radio and television program containing mostly regional and local content documenting American communities during the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first.
American Masters Digital Archive
Unreleased interview footage with musicians, filmmakers, artists, historians, writers, comedians, journalists and more.
Archive of American Television
Hosted by the Television Academy Foundation, this archive provides access to hundreds of in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers. Browse by person, show, topic or profession. New interviews and indexes are added regularly.
BBC Programmes
A rolling archive of BBC television and radio programs. Those marked "Available now" can be viewed in their entirety.
CNN Films: Digital Shorts
Original short films directed by established and rising filmmakers.
Critical Commons
Critical analysis of media clips by academics, moderated by Steve Anderson, Associate Professor in the Media Arts + Practice and Interactive Media & Games divisions of the USC School of Cinematic Arts.
Culture Unplugged
Access to hundreds of documentary films from independent film-makers and grassroots productions covering various aspects of global issues.
IMDB TV
Ad-supported free access to many popular feature films and TV series. Designed for personal, non-commercial use. Creating a free account is required.
The Mike Wallace Interview
Video of 65 interviews from the television series hosted by the late Mike Wallace from 1957 and 1958. Interviewees include Eleanor Roosevelt, Frank Lloyd Wright, Margaret Sanger, and Salvador Dali, among other notables of the time.
Movieclips
This YouTube channel from Fandango includes more than 12,000 short clips from feature films licensed from Fox, MGM, Paramount, Sony, Universal and Warner Bros.
National Film Board of Canada
Access to over 3000 NFBC documentary, animation, alternative drama and digital media productions.
National Geographic Video
Selected Nat Geo programs/episodes available for streaming.
Open Vault from GBH
Access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station GBH. After performing any keyword search, limit by Access: Available Online above the search results.
PBS Video
Selected PBS programs/episodes available for streaming, including NOVA, POV, Nature, and Frontline.
YouTube Movies
Stream Hollywood movies for free (with ads).

Multi-Subject Collections

Khan Academy
Videos and practice exercises in a variety of subjects including math, science, arts and humanities, and economics.
TED
"Ideas worth spreading" on a wide variety of topics, including technology, science, business, innovation, social change, communication, and child development.

Health Sciences

CDC TV
Videos from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention cover a variety of health, safety and preparedness topics.
HEAL Collection
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education.

Other Subject Collections

Art21
Films and tools for teaching about contemporary art and artists. Includes all ten seasons of the Peabody Award-winning PBS series Art in the Twenty-First Century.
Ensia
Published at the University of Minnesota’s Institute on the Environment, Ensia is a solutions-focused media outlet reporting on our changing planet. Video topics include climate change, conservation, and sustainability.
EVIA Digital Archives Project - Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis
A digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors, brought to you by Indiana University and the University of Michigan.
Penn Museum
A collection of archival films and born-digital videos covering a range of archaeological and anthropological topics. Click on "Playlists" in the Videos drop-down menu to access themed collections.

Streaming Media: Home

Open Streaming Media Collections

Cultural Heritage

History

News

Film & Television

Multi-Subject Collections

Health Sciences

Other Subject Collections