LibGuides: Music Resource Guide: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

780.92 Biography (Before 1990: 927.8)
782.1 Opera
784 Vocal Music
785 Symphonic Music
786 Keyboard Instruments
787 Stringed Instruments
788 Wind Instruments
789 Percussion Instruments

Recommended Reference

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie, John Tyrrell, eds.
Call Number: R 780.3 N42s2
ISBN: 9781561592395
Publication Date: 2003
An indispensable resource and a classic reference. Articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more. Also includes contributions on non-Western music.
The Oxford Companion to Music by Alison Latham, ed.
Call Number: R 780.3 Ox2L
ISBN: 9780198662129
Publication Date: 2002
Includes 8000 entries, from brief definitions to in-depth essays, along with over 1000 new entries ideal for the amateur, the professional and the student. One-hundred-and-fifty expert contributors place music in its social and cultural context. Includes analysis, theory, ethnomusicology and performance practice, as well as jazz, popular music and dance.

The Harvard Dictionary of Music
Wide ranging and reliable, this treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.

Recommended Websites

World Music Central.org
This online magazine describes itself as "your connection to traditional and contemporary world music, including folk, roots, and global fusions."
musictheory.net
Lessons (rhythm and meter, intervals and chords), exercises (identifications, constructions and ear training) and tools (calculators and utilities) for the music theory student.
Sheet Music Consortium
A database of sheet music collections from over 30 participating institutions. For sheet music available online, limit to "Digitized sheetmusic" below the search box.
Opera Guide - Opera-Inside
All about operas and arias, the guide includes synopses, notes, and embedded videos of great performances.
Classical Music
Brought to you by BBC Music Magazine, this site features articles on composers, works, recordings, and artists, as well as podcasts and playlists from the BBC Music Magazine team.

Your Librarian

Darla Haines

Contact:

Library Director / Technical Services Librarian
MU Funderburg Library: Office #109
Phone: 260.982.5949
Email: dvhaines@manchester.edu

Subjects: Art, Education, English, Gender Studies, History, Music, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Theater

Recommended Journals

Journal of Research in Music Education
Reports of peer-reviewed original research related to music teaching and learning. Topics include various aspects of music pedagogy, history, and philosophy, and addresses vocal, instrumental, and general music at all levels, from early childhood through adult.
**Peer Reviewed
Ethnomusicology
Peer-reviewed theoretical perspectives and research in ethnomusicology and related fields from 1953. Last 4 years have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Journal of Music Theory
Research with important and broad applications in the analysis of music and the history of music theory as well as theoretical or metatheoretical work that engages and stimulates ongoing discourse in the field. Last 5 years have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
The Musical Quarterly
Regular sections include American Musics, Music and Culture, The Twentieth Century, Institutions, Industries, Technologies, and Primary Sources. Last 5 years have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed

Music Resource Guide: Home