LibGuides: Natural Sciences Resource Guide: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Finding a Scholarly Article

Advanced Article Search
Do you have a title, DOI or PMID for an article that you want? If so, use this advanced search page to find it at Manchester University. If it's not in our collection then you can press the "Request item through interlibrary loan" button and the librarians will work behind the scenes to get you the article at no charge to you!

Recommended Websites

American Chemical Society
Articles and information presented by the American Chemical Society, a not-for-profit advancing the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people.
ChemSynthesis
ChemSynthesis is a freely accessible database of chemicals containing substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density.
Encyclopedia of the Earth
A free, fully-searchable electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.
Environmental Protection Agency
A government site with information on environmental topics, laws and regulations.
Science X
News organization dedicated to the coverage of stories in the fields of physics, nanotechnology, astronomy, chemistry, biology and other sciences.

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

Astronomy 520
Physics 530
Chemistry 540
Organic Chemistry 547
Geology, Hydrology, Meteorology 551
Biology 570
Biochemistry 572
Ecology 577
Plants 580
Zoology 590
Medicine and Health 610
Applied Physics 621
Chemical Engineering 660

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 20 core journals published by the American Chemical Society, along with token access to other ACS content.
Note: A limited number of tokens are included with our subscription each year. Please download articles with token access to help conserve tokens.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
A collection of critical reviews published annually in disciplinary areas within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text of high-impact bioscience research journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
GreenFile* This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
MEDLINE with Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948. It includes links to full-text articles which may be found in other databases such as PubMed Central or at publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 880 peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences.
CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.
Note: Log in to SciFinder-n with your SciFinder account. If you don't have an account, register here before accessing the database.