LibGuides: Peace Studies Resource Guide: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers

158.2 Interpersonal relations
172.4 Ethical aspects of war/peace
261.873 Christianity, war and peace
302.3 Interaction within groups
303.61 Nonviolence
303.66 Pacifism
303.69 Conflict resolution
327 International relations
327.172 Promotion of peace
341.7 International cooperation
355.027 Causes of war
362.5 Poverty
363.32 Social conflict (including violence)

Recommended Reference

American Peace Movement in the 20th Century by Christine A. Lunardini
Call Number: Peace 327.172 L971a
ISBN: 9780874367140
Publication Date: 1994
A-Z entries cover the people, organizations, historic events, and treaties that have promoted peace in the U.S. in the twentieth century.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict by Lester R. Kurtz, ed.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780123739858
Publication Date: 2008
Multi-disciplinary, cross-referenced and authoritatively authored articles address antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life. Topics include Arms Control, Peace Movements, Child Abuse, Folklore, Terrorism and Political Assassinations,
World Encyclopedia of Peace by Javier Perez de Cuellar and Young-Seek Choue, eds.
Call Number: R 327.172 W893p2
ISBN: 0379213990
Publication Date: 1999
Presents varied points of view on how to create and sustain a lasting peace. Topics include international conflict, world order and internationalism, the peace movement, pacifism, religions and peace, nonviolence, human rights and social justice, and peace education.

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Communication & Mass Media Complete* This link opens in a new window
Full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 specialized reference works covering every major subject.
Essay & General Literature Index* This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 300,000 articles in more than 25,000 anthologies and essay collections, focusing on the humanities and social sciences, with an additional 300 books and 20 annual series each year.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection focusing on history and sociology, with crossover content in a variety of subjects. Producers include Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, BBC, ABC News and The Open University.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Now includes former Artstor cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.

Recommended Websites

Beyond Intractability
Thousands of theoretical and practical (how-to) essays, case studies, audio interviews, and other materials written by conflict experts, both scholars and practitioners.
Films for Action
This "learning library for people who want to change the world" contains over 5,000 free documentaries, short films, and videos, as well as a collection of over 4,000 articles. Topics include activism, community, social issues, and war and peace.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch investigates and reports on abuses happening in all corners of the world and works to protect the most at risk, from vulnerable minoriites and civilians in wartime, to refugees and children in need.
Mediate.com
Articles, news items, blog postings and videos covering a variety of mediation topics.
Peace Magazine
Articles, news stories, and letters discussing disarmament; conflict resolution; nonviolent sanctions; conflicts and crises around the world; and controversies about development, population, and environmental protection.
United States Institute of Peace - Issue Areas
Analysis and research on issues addressed by the U.S.I.P. Categories include: civilian-military relations; conflict analysis and prevention; mediation, negotiation & dialogue; nonviolent action; peace processes; reconciliation; and violent extremism.

Your Librarian

Darla Haines

Contact:

Library Director / Technical Services Librarian
MU Funderburg Library: 109
Phone: 260.982.5949
Email: dvhaines@manchester.edu

Subjects: Art, Communication Studies, Education, English, Gender Studies, General, History, Music, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology & Social Work, Spanish, Theater

Recommended Journals

Conflict Resolution Quarterly
Articles focus on all aspects of the conflict resolution process and context, including the interface of conflict and diversity management and the implications of social and political issues on engaging interpersonal, intra-group, intra-organizational and intergroup conflict. Last 12 months have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Journal of Peace Research
Interdisciplinary peace research with a global focus on conflict and peacemaking, including the causes of violence and conflict resolution. Tables of contents for the last 4 years can be viewed on the publisher site; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Peace and Change
Scholarly and interpretive articles related to the achieving of a peaceful, just, and humane society. Topics related to peace and war, social change, justice, nonviolence and conflict resolution. Last 12 months have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Peace and Conflict: Journal of Peace Psychology
Articles examine peace, conflict, and their interaction at all levels of analysis, from interpersonal to community, regional, national, and international issues.
**Peer Reviewed

Peace Studies Resource Guide: Home