LibGuides: Political Science Resource Guide: Home

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Your Library Account

Recommended Reference

Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics by Martin Griffiths, ed.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781135190873
Publication Date: 2013
Covers all aspects of global international relations and the contemporary discipline across IR's major subject divisions of diplomacy, military affairs, international political economy, and theory.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History. (Two Volume Set) by Michael Kazin, Rebecca Edwards and Adam Rothman, eds.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781400833566
Publication Date: 2009
Addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.

Recommended Journals

American Journal of Political Science
Research in all major areas of political science including American politics, public policy, international relations, comparative politics, political methodology, and political theory. Tables of contents for the last 2 years can be viewed on the publisher site; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
American Political Science Review
Research from all fields of political science, including political theory, American politics, public policy, public administration, comparative politics, and international relations. Tables of contents for the last 6 years can be viewed on the publisher site; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
International Affairs
Original articles in international politics, economics, security and other related fields. Last 12 months have tables of contents; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer reviewed
International Organization
Covers the entire field of international affairs, including foreign policies, international relations, international and comparative political economy, bargaining and conflict resolution, and economic development. Tables of contents for the last 4 years can be viewed on the publisher site; articles can be requested through interlibrary loan.
**Peer Reviewed
Political Analysis
Peer reviewed articles that provide original and significant advances in the general area of political methodology, including both quantitative and qualitative methodological approaches.

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Census.gov This link opens in a new window
A leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Communication & Mass Media Complete* This link opens in a new window
Full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 specialized reference works covering every major subject.
Essay & General Literature Index* This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 300,000 articles in more than 25,000 anthologies and essay collections, focusing on the humanities and social sciences, with an additional 300 books and 20 annual series each year.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Now includes former Artstor cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images.
Military & Government Collection* This link opens in a new window
Current news, along with periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to all branches of the military and government. Includes full text for nearly 300 titles and indexing and abstracts for 400 more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.
WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Note: Off-campus, you may have to close the browser tab and re-open it if an access error message appears.
Primary and secondary legal sources, including both federal and state cases, legal documents, statutes, and regulations, as well as law review articles and the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia.

Recommended Websites

Congress.gov
Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information. Includes Congressional Research Service Reports, the Congressional Record, and a fully annotated analysis and interpretation of the Constitution.
U.S. State Department - Office of the Historian
In-depth information on the history of U.S. foreign policy. Includes the Foreign Relations series, which covers major U.S. foreign policy decisions from the Lincoln to the Clinton administrations, and the history of U.S. relations with states around the world.
Policy Archive
A digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. Research areas include economics, education, government, human rights, international relations, law and ethics, and social conditions.
The World Factbook
Information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Also includes regional and world maps, flags of the world, and country comparisons based on a variety of data.
The American Presidency Project
Documents, statistics, and media related to the study of the presidency. Includes The Public Papers of the Presidents since 1929.

Your Librarian

Darla Haines

Contact:

Library Director / Technical Services Librarian
MU Funderburg Library: 109
Phone: 260.982.5949
Email: dvhaines@manchester.edu

Subjects: Art, Communication Studies, Education, English, Gender Studies, General, History, Music, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology & Social Work, Spanish, Theater

Browse Call Numbers

Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.

Common Call Numbers