Home - FYWS - Pop Culture - LibGuides at Manchester University

Scholarly Research

Scholarly (Peer-reviewed) Journals

Written by an expert or specialist in the field
Written for scholars and other academics, using jargon specific to the field
Presents research findings and theories related to a particular field or discipline
Includes bibliography and/or footnotes

Reading Scholarly Articles

Used with permission from the Undergraduate Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Click image to open in new window,
then click once with magnifying glass to enlarge.

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Your Library Account

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Elite, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking the "Academic Search Elite" link above the search box, checking the box(es) next to the database name(s), and clicking OK.

Academic Search Elite*
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as 1,100+ full-text, peer-reviewed publications.
Business Source Elite*
Full-text, along with abstracted and indexed scholarly journals and trade publications covering all areas of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Now includes former Artstor cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images.
MasterFILE Elite*
Designed for public libraries, MasterFILE Elite contains 900+ full-text magazines and journals, plus reference books and images covering business, health, general science and multicultural issues.
Newspaper Source*
Full text for 25 national and international newspapers, as well as television and radio transcripts from CBS News, CNN, FOX News, and more.
Project Muse
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.