Home - FYWS - Jazz History - LibGuides at Manchester University

Spartan Search

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking the "Academic Search Complete" link above the search box, checking boxes next to the database names and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Biography Reference Source* This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies, including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Humanities Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Now includes former Artstor cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images.