Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using This Guide
Welcome to the FYS Lead Out Loud research guide. Use the tabs at the top of the page to access a variety of resources relevant to the course.
Effective leaders are crucial to the success of a family, a business, an athletic team, a country. However, we often don't acknowledge how we develop as leaders or how we can learn to lead. Through serve learning and introspection, this first year seminar will explore different leadership styles as well as embark on leadership challenges to develop skills that bring about social change. This section is reserved for students in the Honors Program.
Spartan Search: Books & More
Browse Call Numbers
Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.
- 900s Geography / Travel / Biography / History
- Peace Studies Collection
- Brethren Collection
- MC/MU Collection
- Access Services
- Reference Collection
- New Books
- Best Sellers
- 100s Philosophy / Psychology
- 200s Religion
- 300s Sociology / Political Science / Education
- 400s Languages / Linguistics
- 500s Science / Math
- 600s Technology / Medicine / Business
- 700s Art / Music / Theatre / Sports
- 800s Literature
- Teaching Resources
- Juvenile Collection
Searching EBSCO Databases:
After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.
Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Biography Reference Bank* This link opens in a new window
In-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, along with thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index. Also provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Center* This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies, including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres.
Business Source Complete* This link opens in a new window
Full-text from scholarly journals and trade publications covering all areas of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Not finding what you need? Use the contact information below!