Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using This Guide
Welcome to the FYWS Breaking Bad Science research guide. Use the tabs at the top of the page to access a variety of resources relevant to the course.
Library Guide Introduction and Tour
from Manchester Library
Spartan Search: Books & More
Browse Call Numbers
Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.
- 900s Geography / Travel / Biography / History
- Peace Studies Collection
- Brethren Collection
- MC/MU Collection
- Access Services
- Reference Collection
- New Books
- Best Sellers
- 100s Philosophy / Psychology
- 200s Religion
- 300s Sociology / Political Science / Education
- 400s Languages / Linguistics
- 500s Science / Math
- 600s Technology / Medicine / Business
- 700s Art / Music / Theatre / Sports
- 800s Literature
- Teaching Resources
- Juvenile Collection
Recommended General Databases
Searching EBSCO Databases:
After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.
Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
Health Source - Consumer Edition* This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health from consumer health magazines
Newspaper Source Plus* This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers.
ProQuest Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
A core collection of over 1500 health care and medical journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948. It includes links to full-text articles which may be found in other databases such as PubMed Central or at publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 880 peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences.
Recommended Medical and Scientific Databases
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text of journals published by the American Chemical Society.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic* This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Unbiased, scientific clinical information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
Not finding what you need? Use the contact information below!