Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using This Guide
Welcome to the FYS Orange is Not the New Black research guide. Use the tabs at the top of the page to access a variety of resources relevant to the course.
Library Guide Introduction and Tour
from Manchester Library
Spartan Search: Books & More
Browse Call Numbers
Venture into the stacks on the lower level and browse the shelves. Check the tables of contents and indexes to see if a book has information on your topic.
- 900s Geography / Travel / Biography / History
- Peace Studies Collection
- Brethren Collection
- MC/MU Collection
- Access Services
- Reference Collection
- New Books
- Best Sellers
- 100s Philosophy / Psychology
- 200s Religion
- 300s Sociology / Political Science / Education
- 400s Languages / Linguistics
- 500s Science / Math
- 600s Technology / Medicine / Business
- 700s Art / Music / Theatre / Sports
- 800s Literature
- Teaching Resources
- Juvenile Collection
Searching EBSCO Databases:
After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.
Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Includes original, comprehensive, and unbiased reporting and analysis on issues in the news from 1991-present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Newspaper Source Plus* This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Opposing viewpoints on controversial social issues. Includes newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles, as well as audio and video.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.
Not finding what you need? Use the contact information below!