LibGuides: ENG 103 FYS Writing Lab (Gardinier): Resources

Spartan Search: Books & More

Access Books, eBooks, DVDs and More

Your Library Account

Recommended Books

I-Minds by Mari Swingle
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781550926194
Publication Date: 2016
Explores the pervasive influence of i-technology. and demonstrates how constant connectivity is rapidly changing our brains, what dangers are posed to children and adults alike in this brave new world and the positive steps we can take to embrace new technology while protecting our well-being and steering our future in a more human direction.
The Shallows by Nicholas Carr
Call Number: 612.8 C23s
ISBN: 9780393072228
Publication Date: 2010
Discusses how the Net is remaking us in its own image. We are becoming ever more adept at scanning and skimming, but what we are losing is our capacity for concentration, contemplation, and reflection.
The Distracted Mind by Adam Gazzaley; Larry D. Rosen
Call Number: New Books 153.7 G259d
ISBN: 9780262034944
Publication Date: 2016
Examines why our brains aren't built for media multitasking, and how we can learn to live with technology in a more balanced way.

Background Information

Impact of the Internet on Thinking
This CQ Researcher report provides societal context for some of the ideas presented in Turkle's article. Take a look at "Current Situation" and "Outlook"--keeping in mind the report was written in 2010, as well as "Pro/Con" which asks: is the internet is making students smarter?

Recommended Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Recommended Database Groupings:

General Academic: Academic Search Complete, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Social Sciences Full Text

Education topics: add ERIC, Professional Development Collection

Popular & Newspapers: MasterFILE Complete, McClatchy-Tribune Collection, Newspaper Source Plus, Newswires

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Communication & Mass Media Complete* This link opens in a new window
Full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
ERIC* This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
MasterFILE Complete* This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering virtually every subject area of general interest.
McClatchy-Tribune Collection* This link opens in a new window
90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services. Includes international content.
Newspaper Source Plus* This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers.
Newswires* This link opens in a new window
Near real-time access to current top world-wide news (last 30 days) from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. Includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more.
Professional Development Collection* This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, providing a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals.
Social Sciences Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the social sciences cover a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, gender studies, political science, public welfare, urban studies, and more.

Access Your Library Account

When accessing your library account online, you can view:

What you currently have checked out, the due date of those items, and the opportunity to renew the items online
Holds that have come in and are ready for pick-up
Fines accumulated
Your personal contact information and the ability to make quick changes

Access your account by:

Clicking the Your Library Account link from the Spartan Search box on the left
Logging in with your MU network username and password, making sure to capitalize the 1st three letters of your username
Clicking the My Account link found at the top right corner of the search page that appears

Questions? Ask your friendly librarians using the contact information on the Home tab of this guide!

Access Online Resources

When off campus, use your MU network username and password to access library resources. This login is case-sensitive, make sure to capitalize the first three letters of your username (first two if you do not use a middle initial). If you need help, contact Darla Haines.

ENG 103 FYS Writing Lab (Gardinier): Resources