LibGuides: Education: Articles

Spartan Search: Articles

Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, & Professional Development Collection

Education Databases

General Database

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.

Education-Specific Databases

ERIC* This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Now includes former Artstor cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from more than 150 popular middle school magazines, each assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), along with biographies, historical essays, primary source documents, reference books, maps and flags.
Primary Search* This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from more than 80 popular elementary school magazines, each assigned reading level indicators (Lexiles), along with the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, written specifically for kids. Also includes the American Heritage Children's Dictionary and thousands of photos, maps and flags.
Professional Development Collection* This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, providing a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals.
Teacher Reference Center* This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

EBSCO databases marked with an asterisk (*) can be searched at the same time. Open one of the databases and locate the Choose Databases link found right above the search box. Place checks next to the databases starred here and click OK.

Tips For Searching ERIC:

Limit to Grade Level
In "Advanced Search", locate the "Educational Level" box and highlight the grade level you wish to search.

Limit to Research Methods
1) In "Advanced Search", use the subject heading "Qualitative Research" along with any additional search terms.
2) Specific research methods can be combined with "Qualitative Research" using OR. Examples include: "action research," "focus groups," "case studies," "ethnography," "grounded theory."

Tips For Searching JSTOR:

Limit to Methodology
In "Advanced Search," place a check next to "Education" to search only education journals. Enter "qualitative" and any additional search terms. Limit the "Type" to "Article."

Education Journal Titles

Childhood Education
A journal covering all aspects of childhood education. Includes teaching strategies, book reviews, and special reports on issues such as technology in the classroom or the needs of parents.
**Peer Reviewed
Educational Leadership
Includes topics about teaching and learning, new ideas and practices relevant to educators, and the latest trends and issues affecting pre-K through higher education.
Journal of Education
Contains articles aimed at students and educators on issues in contemporary education.
**Peer Reviewed
Reading Research Quarterly
Reading Research Quarterly (RRQ) is the leading peer-reviewed professional research journal for those committed to scholarship on questions of literacy among learners of all ages. RRQ supports the spirit of inquiry that is essential to the ongoing development of literacy research, and provides a forum for multidisciplinary research, alternative modes of investigation, and variant viewpoints about the nature of literacy practices and policies of diverse groups of persons around the world.
**Peer Reviewed
Technology and Learning
Includes news and information for educators regarding the integration of computers and information technologies into K-12 classrooms. The intended audience includes teachers, technology coordinators, and school administrators.

Access Online Resources

When off campus, use your MU network username and password to access library resources. This login is case-sensitive, make sure to capitalize the first three letters of your username (first two if you do not use a middle initial). If you need help, contact Darla Haines.