LibGuides: EDUC 240-263: Learners With High Abilities/Mild Disabilities: Research Article Presentation

Research Article Presentation Objectives

Research Article Presentation Objectives:
You will be required to select a recent research article from a special education, gifted education, or professional education journal that highlights an issue of interest to you (in relation to course material). You will prepare a 1-page summary of the article and will present it to the class with the following questions to consider as points of discussion:

Do you agree/disagree with the author(s) and the content of the article? Why/why not? Can you defend your position with evidence from the text, personal experience, etc.?
Who will benefit from reading the article? What will that benefit be?
Why is the article's information important? (Explain how it can be used in the classroom)
What new questions/thoughts have been generated from the research?

Keywords to Try When Searching

Place quotation marks around phrases of more than 1 word when searching. (EX: "high ability")

High Ability Search Term Options

advanced placement
autistic children
classroom environment
classroom techniques
gifted and talented students
high ability students
high achievement
learning styles
student motivation

Mild Disability Search Term Options

aggression
antisocial behavior
behavior problems
classroom techniques
learning disabilities
learning styles
mild disability students
mild mental retardation
positive reinforcement
special education
student behavior

Education Databases

EBSCO

Academic Search Premier
A comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text.
ERIC
Citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Other

JSTOR
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines. For education-related research, choose the Education discipline found in the Advanced Search area.

Education Journal Titles

Beyond Behavior
A peer-reviewed journal published by the Council for Children with Behavioral Disorders covering topics of child behavior psychology. Full Text access from 2003-present.
Exceptional Children
A peer-reviewed journal with original research on the education and development of exceptional infants, toddlers, children, and youth. Full Text access from 1988-present.
Remedial & Special Education
A peer-reviewed journal containing articles on issues involving the education of persons for whom typical instruction is not effective, interpretation of research literature and recommendations for the practice of remedial and special education. Full Text access from 1993-2008.
Teaching Exceptional Children
A peer-reviewed journal featuring articles dealing with practical methods and materials for classroom use aimed at teachers of children with disabilities and children who are gifted. Full Text from 2001-present.
Topics in Early Childhood Special Education
A peer-reviewed journal with articles that focus on different aspects of early childhood special education. Topics include staff development, technical assistance, intervention programs, research and practice in early intervention. Full Text access from 1990-2007.

High Ability & Mild Disability Wordcloud

Finding and Narrowing a Topic

Find ideas in the syllabus, your text, class discussion, or Google News.

Narrow down a broad topic by asking yourself
the 5 W's: who? what? where? when? why?

   As you search the databases, looking at
   subject headings and abstracts can help you
                focus your topic.

Boolean Operators

Using Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT) with your keywords will help you narrow or expand your results.

The highlighted middle section represents the use of AND. Searching for poverty AND addiction will give you results with both words present. Therefore, your results are fewer.

Using OR between similar keywords will give you results that include both words. Therefore, your results are greater. A search for teenagers OR adolescents will retrieve either or both terms.

The NOT operator gives you results from only one of your words. Therefore, your results are fewer. Searching for addiction NOT alcohol will eliminate alcohol from the results.

Click images to enlarge