LibGuides: HIST 344: Historiography and Research Methodology: Research Question Development

Explorng a Research Topic

Getting Started:

In the development phase, do a preliminary search to familiarize yourself with your topic. Use the five Ws to focus your research:

Who: demographic focus (gender, age, race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status)
What: aspects, details
Where: geographic location
When: either present day or a particular time period in the past
Why/How/So What!: importance, impact (societal, individual)

Keep in Mind:

You don't have to answer all of the questions. Some might not apply
or be helpful.
Your research question might evolve and change as you review
the literature.

Preliminary Searching

Searching EBSCO Databases:

After clicking on Academic Search Complete, all recommended EBSCO databases* (so marked) can be searched simultaneously by clicking "Choose Databases," checking the box next to the database name and clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Biography Reference Bank* This link opens in a new window
In-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, along with thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index. Also provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Source* This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies, including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 specialized reference works covering every major subject.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica, along with a world atlas, world factbook, journals, magazines, images and videos.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
150,000+ hand-selected ebooks covering a wide range of disciplines.

Historiography Research Project Organization

Historiography Research Sources Matrix
Includes a template to record your article source citations and reflect on whether your source is primary/secondary, how the source relates to your thesis, the relevance, etc.