LibGuides: SOC 101: Intro to Sociology: Poster Presentation Assignment

Databases

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study as well as nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a specialized Google search allowing users to narrow results to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Some resources are directly accessible on the internet, while others are available through library databases and interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Now includes former Artstor cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images.

Poster Creation with PowerPoint

PowerPoint Poster Templates

CLICK HERE to download this template

When your poster is complete, Save As PDF. Review the PDF file prior to sending to your professor for printing.

Infographic Creation With Canva

I'm in LOVE with Canva for graphic creation. Canva recently released a new infographic feature that allows you to visually represent your data. Consider using an infographic within your poster for more visual effect. Use the resources below to get started with Canva.

Canva Tutorial: Create a Slick Infographic in 15 Minutes

Source: https://www.sitepoint.com/infographics-with-canva-tutorial/

Tutorial: How To Create An Infographic In Minutes
Source: Kimberly Ann Jimenez, https://youtu.be/XW33k8j4n0M

Library Session Worksheet

SOC 101 Library Session Worksheet

Resources to Consult

Resources to Consult:

Sociological Images
Sociological Images encourages all kinds of people to exercise and develop their sociological imagination by presenting brief discussions of compelling and timely imagery that span the breadth of sociological inquiry. Sociological Images is used as a source by a wide range of news organizations and are routinely cross-posted at high profile news and opinion sites.

Contexts Magazine
Contexts, peer-reviewed and published quarterly, offers a smartly written, thought-provoking take on modern life in our communities. It takes our favorite newspapers and magazines one step further, answering the "Why does that happen?" question with the research and experience of the best sociologists in the United States. Both the educated lay reader and those in sociology and its related fields find the articles captivating. An official publication of the ASA.

Searching Contexts Magazine with Keywords...

Begin to scroll down the page.
A search box will appear at the top right
Enter your search terms and choose In This Journal from the relevance menu that appears

Tips for Creating a Great Academic Poster

Tips for Poster Creation
The poster you create should summarize information or research concisely and attractively through the use of brief text, tables, graphs, pictures, and other presentation formats. Consider the following:

Short titles for section headings that draw interest
Text is clear, to the point, and readable from a distance
Use of bullets for reading ease
Effective use of graphics, color, and fonts
Consistent and clean layout reading from top left to bottom right
Inclusion of citations, your name, and institution

Questions to Ask Yourself

What is the most important/interesting finding from my research?
How can I visually represent that important/interesting finding? (charts, graphs, images, infographic?)

SOC 101: Intro to Sociology: Poster Presentation Assignment