The library provides print and electronic resources to support the University curriculum, consultation and interlibrary loan services to aid research and instruction in the discovery and use of information sources. Comfortable seating areas on three floors allow for individual, group, or quiet study. A computer lab, the Walker Active Learning Center and an after-hours study, home of Lounge Twelve, round out the space. Special collections include the University archives, Brethren historical materials and the peace studies collection.
Manchester students, faculty, and staff must present a valid Manchester University ID.
Borrowing privileges for alumni and the general public may be purchased by those 18 years and older. Application forms are available at the access services desk. Fees are $15 for alumni and $30 for the general public, good for one year from the date of purchase. Six month privileges are available at half price.
Manchester community school teachers, clergy employed at local churches, and area and retired Church of the Brethren clergy may request a courtesy card for free borrowing privileges.
| Material | Loan Period | Item Limit |
| Books | 30 days | none |
| DVDs | 3 days | 3 |
| Reference Books | 2 hours | 3 |
| Laptops | 7 days | 1 |
| Dry Erase Boards & Markers | 4 hours | 1 |
| Headphones | 4 hours | 1 |
Materials may be renewed in person, by phone, or by logging in to your library account.
Items will not be renewed if they have been requested by another patron.
Circulation of reference and reserve materials, AV items and periodicals is limited to Manchester University ID holders.
Reference, AV items and periodicals can be used in-house by any patron.
Please see the Interlibrary Loan page.
Students, faculty, and staff may borrow laptops at the access services desk. All borrowers must read and sign a copy of the Laptop Borrower's Agreement, which will be kept on file.
| Laptop Borrower's Agreement - Faculty/Staff | Laptop Borrower's Agreement - Students |
There are no daily fines for books, but overdue notices will be sent after 3 days, 13 days, and 23 days past the due date. A fourth notice, after 33 days, will be accompanied by a replacement bill.
Replacement fee for in-print materials is the cost of the replacement plus a non-refundable $10 service charge. Replacement fee for out-of-print materials is a flat $30 plus a non-refundable $10 service charge.
Fines will be assessed for ILL, reserves, AV materials, and laptops:
Fines must be paid with a card on this website. Please be sure to check how much you owe before making your online payment.
For access to the archives, Special Collections, or the Brethren Collection, please call in advance: 260-982-5361. Visiting researchers are encouraged to schedule an appointment.
Copying and printing are via Printing@MU. Printers are located on the main level of the library and in the computer lab on the lower level. Twenty-four-hour printing is available in Wilbur's.
The library no longer seeks donations of used books and periodicals. Except for certain special works, usually pertaining to the history of the University or the Brethren Historical Collection, we only accept items meeting all of the following criteria:
Prior arrangements must be made with the Library Director, including the submission of a list of titles.
